Guns


Repeal it

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

TomH
“Another mass murder episode strikes us, this time in Oregon, my state. This time at a college. I teach at a university in Oregon and this gun problem is way past outrageous. Time to repeal the stupid Second Amendment and start fixing this.”

Author: Tom H. Hastings
Published in: Grassroots Press http://www.grass-roots-press.com/2015/10/01/repeal-it/
Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/10/02/another-mass-murder/
The Creole http://www.thecreole.com/?p=44939
South Coast Today http://www.southcoasttoday.com/article/20151004/OPINION/151009795/101096
Wilson County News http://www.wilsoncountynews.com/article.php?id=68415&n=commentaries-repeal
Quad City Times http://qctimes.com/news/opinion/time-to-repeal-the-second-amendment/article_3c6ffa4e-f6e0-5a62-9d82-0427e80cadd6.html
Courier Post Online http://www.courierpostonline.com/story/opinion/columnists/2015/10/02/commentary-repeal-nd-amendment/73171128/
The Daily Star Journal http://www.dailystarjournal.com/opinion/article_5de69f66-5518-54f2-94e8-e4a1f6bd0dbc.html
Madison Press http://madison-press.com/opinion/3123/repeal-the-second-amendment
Muscatine Journal http://muscatinejournal.com/news/opinion/time-to-repeal-the-second-amendment/article_e1f12ac1-7f8f-502a-a84d-24c7c0656302.html
La Progressive https://www.laprogressive.com/repeal-second-amendment/

Date: October 1,2,4,2015

For the full article: (more…)


Armed insecurity

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Robert Koehler
““… no real security, just powers of retaliation.”
This was Norman Mailer, four-plus decades ago, writing in “Miami and the Siege of Chicago” about the obsessive security measures – “helicopters riding overhead like roller coasters, state troopers with magnums on their hip and crash helmets, squad cars, motorcycles” – at the Democratic and Republican national conventions, which … uh, didn’t actually provide security, but sure allowed us to get even afterwards.”

Author: Robert C. Koehler
Published in: Common Wonders Blog http://commonwonders.com/world/armed-insecurity/
Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com/robert-koehler/armed-insecurity_b_7859664.html
IslamiCity http://www.islamicity.org/9065/armed-insecurity/
Lebenshaus Schwabische Alb http://www.lebenshaus-alb.de/magazin/009308.html
The Raven Foundation https://www.ravenfoundation.org/armed-insecurity/
Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2015/07/23/armed-insecurity-age-endless-war-and-mass-shootings
The Town Talk http://www.thetowntalk.com/story/opinion/2015/07/24/robert-koehler-armed-insecurity/30643747/
Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/buzzflash/commentary/the-united-states-is-armed-and-dangerous-against-itself
The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2015/08/heavily-armed-does-not-equal-being-secure/
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/07/29/them-and-us-72915/
La Progressive https://www.laprogressive.com/armed-insecurity/
Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/armed_insecurity/
Newberry Observer http://newberryobserver.com/opinion/editorials/1179/being-armed-doesnt-mean-youre-secure
Date: July 22,23,24,26,29,August 3,4,2015

For the full article: (more…)


Guns and the Godly

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

LawrenceWittner
“Where do American Christians stand on guns and gun-related violence? Christianity, after all, is a religion that professes love and peace. Admittedly, the Christian Bible’s frequent depiction of Christ (“The Prince of Peace”) as rejecting violence seems contradicted by his remark that he had come not to bring peace, but a sword. But this statement can be interpreted as meaning that his preaching would cause religious divisions in society, rather than that he approved of the spread of weapons and war.”

Author: Lawrence S. Wittner
Published in: Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com/lawrence-wittner/guns-and-the-godly_b_7710192.html
Push Back.US http://pushback.us/guns-and-the-godly/
La Progressive https://www.laprogressive.com/evangelicals-love-guns/
Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/07/02/guns-and-the-godly/
Fountain of Light.net http://www.fountainoflight.net/publish/article_7644.shtml
Slantpoint Blog https://slantpoint.com/guns-and-the-godly/
The Gilmer Mirror http://www.gilmermirror.com/view/full_story/26732531/article-Guns-and-the-Godly
Z Net https://zcomm.org/zblogs/guns-and-the-godly/
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/07/08/people-packing-guns-7815/
Lawrence S. Wittner Blog http://www.lawrenceswittner.com/print/221
Date: July 1,2,8,2015

For the full article: (more…)


Building a Peaceful Future for Our Children

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“Guns. Media. Mental Illness. Lax Security. All these and more have been offered as explanations for the tragic mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary on Friday, December 14 that left 26 people, including 20 children, dead. And all of those things may have played a role. But none are the cause of the problem. And heated debate about them, while important, serves to obscure some other very important conversations about the root issue, which is that the U.S. is a violent, militaristic culture that, in virtually every institution, demonstrates violence as a means of solving problems.”

Author: Laura Finley
Published in: Joplin Independent http://www.joplinindependent.com/display_article.php/hastings1356283858, Common Dreams https://www.commondreams.org/view/2012/12/23-0, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/52233, Los Angeles Informer http://losangeles.informermg.com/2012/12/23/building-a-peaceful-future-for-our-children/, San Diego Informer http://sandiego.informermg.com/2012/12/23/building-a-peaceful-future-for-our-children/, San Francisco Informer http://sanfrancisco.informermg.com/2012/12/23/building-a-peaceful-future-for-our-children/, Pressenza http://www.pressenza.com/2013/01/usa-building-a-peaceful-future-for-our-children/
Date: December 23,2012, January 9,2013

For the full article: (more…)