Guns


Ready?

TomHastings

“So, let’s channel the cranky ghost of George Wallace as he justified his 1968 run for the presidency when he noted, “There’s not a dime’s worth of difference between the Democrat and Republican parties.” What do we know about that in our day, in this election season?”

Tom H. Hastings
Published in: The Dekalb County Dispatch, Newberry Observer, Grassroots Press, Courier Journal
Date: July 22,23,25,2016
467 Words

For the full article: (more…)


Eliminate the Second Amendment and Keep Your Guns

TomHastings

“OK, I confess I fail to see the thrill or need associated with gun ownership and use, but we live in a free country—sort of—and I get why those who hunt need long guns. But I teach, write, and live trying to practice nonviolence…”

Tom H. Hastings
Published in: Counterpunch, Sierra County Prospect, Nation of Change, La Progressive, Newberry Observer, The Star News, The Review, The Athens Messenger, The Dekalb County Dispatch, Chicago Activism
Date: June 6,8,10,21,2016
615 Words

For the full article: (more…)


Stifling Academic Freedom, the NRA Way

LauraFinley

“That conservative forces have long sought to squash dissent and curtail rigorous academic debate on campuses is far from a secret. From the militarization of many campuses, academic repression of faculty, excessive and difficult…”

Laura Finley
Published in: Grassroots Press, La Progressive, Courier Post Online, Gilmer Free Press, Sierra County Prospect, Truthout, Z Net
Date: February 26,28,29,March 4,12,28,2016
520 Words

For the full article: (more…)


Repeal it

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

TomH
“Another mass murder episode strikes us, this time in Oregon, my state. This time at a college. I teach at a university in Oregon and this gun problem is way past outrageous. Time to repeal the stupid Second Amendment and start fixing this.”

Author: Tom H. Hastings
Published in: Grassroots Press http://www.grass-roots-press.com/2015/10/01/repeal-it/
Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/10/02/another-mass-murder/
The Creole http://www.thecreole.com/?p=44939
South Coast Today http://www.southcoasttoday.com/article/20151004/OPINION/151009795/101096
Wilson County News http://www.wilsoncountynews.com/article.php?id=68415&n=commentaries-repeal
Quad City Times http://qctimes.com/news/opinion/time-to-repeal-the-second-amendment/article_3c6ffa4e-f6e0-5a62-9d82-0427e80cadd6.html
Courier Post Online http://www.courierpostonline.com/story/opinion/columnists/2015/10/02/commentary-repeal-nd-amendment/73171128/
The Daily Star Journal http://www.dailystarjournal.com/opinion/article_5de69f66-5518-54f2-94e8-e4a1f6bd0dbc.html
Madison Press http://madison-press.com/opinion/3123/repeal-the-second-amendment
Muscatine Journal http://muscatinejournal.com/news/opinion/time-to-repeal-the-second-amendment/article_e1f12ac1-7f8f-502a-a84d-24c7c0656302.html
La Progressive https://www.laprogressive.com/repeal-second-amendment/
Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/repeal_it/
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/10/05/lets-fix-this-10715/
Date: October 1,2,4,5,8,2015

For the full article: (more…)


Armed insecurity

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Robert Koehler
““… no real security, just powers of retaliation.”
This was Norman Mailer, four-plus decades ago, writing in “Miami and the Siege of Chicago” about the obsessive security measures – “helicopters riding overhead like roller coasters, state troopers with magnums on their hip and crash helmets, squad cars, motorcycles” – at the Democratic and Republican national conventions, which … uh, didn’t actually provide security, but sure allowed us to get even afterwards.”

Author: Robert C. Koehler
Published in: Common Wonders Blog http://commonwonders.com/world/armed-insecurity/
Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com/robert-koehler/armed-insecurity_b_7859664.html
IslamiCity http://www.islamicity.org/9065/armed-insecurity/
Lebenshaus Schwabische Alb http://www.lebenshaus-alb.de/magazin/009308.html
The Raven Foundation https://www.ravenfoundation.org/armed-insecurity/
Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2015/07/23/armed-insecurity-age-endless-war-and-mass-shootings
The Town Talk http://www.thetowntalk.com/story/opinion/2015/07/24/robert-koehler-armed-insecurity/30643747/
Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/buzzflash/commentary/the-united-states-is-armed-and-dangerous-against-itself
The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2015/08/heavily-armed-does-not-equal-being-secure/
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/07/29/them-and-us-72915/
La Progressive https://www.laprogressive.com/armed-insecurity/
Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/armed_insecurity/
Newberry Observer http://newberryobserver.com/opinion/editorials/1179/being-armed-doesnt-mean-youre-secure
Date: July 22,23,24,26,29,August 3,4,2015

For the full article: (more…)