Obama Extends War in Afghanistan

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

KathyKelly
“News agencies reported this morning that weeks ago President Obama signed an order, kept secret until now, to authorize continuation of the Afghan war for at least another year. The order authorizes U.S. airstrikes “to support Afghan military operations in the country” and U.S. ground troops to continue normal operations, which is to say, to “occasionally accompany Afghan troops” on operations against the Taliban.”

Author: Kathy Kelly
Published in: Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/101586, Grassroots Press http://www.grass-roots-press.com/category/opinion/, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/11/22/obama-extends-war-afghanistan/, The WordSmith Collection Blog http://thewordsmithcollection.wordpress.com/, Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2014/11/22/obama-extends-war-afghanistan, Satish Sharma’s Rotigraphy Blog http://satish-sharma.blogspot.com/2014/11/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan.html, Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/news/item/27625-obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan, Counter Currents http://www.countercurrents.org/kelly231114.htm, EuroAsia Review http://www.eurasiareview.com/22112014-obama-extends-war-afghanistan-oped/, Voices for Creative Nonviolence http://vcnv.org/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan, All Len All Blog http://all-len-all.com/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan/, The Monitor Radio http://markbebawi.com/2014/11/22/, War is A Crime http://warisacrime.org/content/obama-extends-war-afghanistan, Center for Research on Globalization http://www.globalresearch.ca/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan/5415761, La Progressive http://www.laprogressive.com/obama-extends-afghanistan-war/, Press TV http://www.presstv.ir/detail/2014/11/23/387170/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan/, OccuWorld http://www.occuworld.org/news/1796900, Z Commentaries https://zcomm.org/zcommentary/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan/, The Smirking Chimp http://www.smirkingchimp.com/thread/kathy-kelly/59722/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan, Dark Politricks Blog http://www.darkpolitricks.com/2014/11/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan/, Al-Ayham Saleh Aggregator http://news.alayham.com/node/309600, Dissident Voice http://dissidentvoice.org/2014/11/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan/, The Rebel Website http://therebel.org/de/presstv/813977-obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan, Iran Daily http://www.iran-daily.com/News/55978.html, World Beyond War http://worldbeyondwar.org/obama-extends-war-afghanistan/, Intrepid Report http://www.intrepidreport.com/archives/14483
Date: November 22,23,24,2014

For the full article: Read more

The wrong priorities: Shifting spending on violence

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

DavidRaglan
“In the lead-up to the grand jury outcome in the Michael Brown murder the St. Louis and Ferguson-area police have ramped up their preparation- with stockpiles of more weapons and rhetoric that contributes to the public frenzy.”

Author: David J. Ragland
Published in: The Portland Alliance http://www.theportlandalliance.org/peacevoice/, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/11/20/wrong-priorities-shifting-spending-violence/, Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/11/21/shifting-spending-on-violence/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=shifting-spending-on-violence, Battle Creek Enquirer http://www.battlecreekenquirer.com/story/opinion/columnists/2014/11/21/david-ragland-fueling-fire-ferguson/19335555/, Common Dreams http://commondreams.org/views/2014/11/21/wrong-priorities-ferguson-and-beyond-we-must-invest-communities-not-violence, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/11/19/ferguson-reliving-reversing-violent-self-fulfilling-prophesy/, Press Tv http://www.presstv.ir/detail/2014/11/22/387077/wrong-priorities-in-ferguson-and-beyond/
Date: November 19,20,21,22,2014

For the full article: Read more

Uncomplicated, in Afghanistan

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

KathyKelly
“On November 7, 2014, while visiting Kabul, The Secretary General of NATO, Jens Stoltenberg, noted that NATO will soon launch a new chapter, a new non-combat mission in Afghanistan. But it’s difficult to spot new methods as NATO commits itself to sustaining combat on the part of Afghan forces.”

Author: Kathy Kelly
Published in: Voices for Creative Nonviolence http://vcnv.org/uncomplicated-in-afghanistan, Center for Research on Globalization http://www.globalresearch.ca/natos-fake-non-combat-mission-in-afghanistan/5415169, Veterans for Peace http://www.veteransforpeace.org/who-we-are/member-highlights/2014/11/20/uncomplicated-afghanistan, The WordSmith Collection http://thewordsmithcollection.wordpress.com/, EuroAsia Review http://www.eurasiareview.com/19112014-uncomplicated-afghanistan-oped/, Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/speakout/item/27592-uncomplicated-in-afghanistan, The Daily Cardinal http://host.madison.com/daily-cardinal/afghanistan-needs-humanitarianism/article_8ba42ef0-7393-11e4-a36d-1326037657df.html, War is A Crime http://warisacrime.org/taxonomy/term/110, Dissident Voice http://dissidentvoice.org/2014/11/uncomplicated-in-afghanistan/, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/101503, The Stringer http://thestringer.com.au/uncomplicated-in-afghanistan-9115#.VHTG5cl5XtA
Date: November 19,20,21,22,23,24,2014

For the full article: Read more

Vengeance is Obsolete

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Winslow Myers
“Benjamin Netanyahu’s remarks on the tragic occasion of the deaths of three Israeli teens at the hands of Palestinians reverberate further than he might think. Understanding their implications is key to what the late Jonathan Schell called “the fate of the earth.””

Author: Winslow Myers
Published in: Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/11/20/vengeance-obsolete/, Winslow Myers Blog http://winslowmyersopeds.blogspot.com/, Pagosa Daily Post http://pagosadailypost.com/2014/11/21/essay-vengeance-is-obsolete/, Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/11/21/vengeance-is-obsolete/, Battle Creek Enquirer http://www.battlecreekenquirer.com/story/opinion/columnists/2014/11/21/winslow-myers-vengeance-obsolete/19336889/
Date: November 20,21,2014

For the full article: Read more

Commemorate Universal Children’s Day: End Child Labor

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

lfinley
“November 20 is Universal Children’s Day, a day devoted to observing the welfare of the world’s children. Unfortunately, in the U.S and elsewhere, children are still denied fundamental human rights. Children worldwide suffer from corporal punishment in homes and schools, are denied access to schooling, are forced to join violent militias, and a endure a host of other atrocities that clearly violate the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC) and other international human rights treaties. One issue that has received attention in the past few months is that of child labor.”

Author: Laura Finley
Published in: The Daily Cardinal http://host.madison.com/daily-cardinal/letter-to-the-editor-celebrate-universal-children-s-day-end/article_64d64668-6fac-11e4-9680-130768d2e1f6.html, Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/speakout/item/27570-commemorate-universal-children-s-day-end-child-labor, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/11/19/commemorate-universal-childrens-day-end-child-labor/, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/101209, Muscatine Journal http://muscatinejournal.com/news/opinion/columns/we-need-hire-standards-for-children/article_9037c55d-c49e-5337-91ae-b087b1eda23a.html, The Cap Times http://host.madison.com/ct/news/opinion/column/laura-finley-commemorate-universal-children-s-day-end-child-labor/article_14973ebf-0c45-5c73-9c6c-1077e17d14ef.html, The Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/site/commemorate_universal_childrens_day_end_child_labor/, Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/11/19/end-child-labor/, The International News http://www.thenews.com.pk/Todays-News-9-285568-End-child-labour, Mineral Wells Texas http://www.mineralwellsindex.com/opinion/commentary-commemorate-universal-children-s-day-end-child-labor/article_63a7f39e-7048-11e4-ba4e-0bd6677f99ce.html, The Durango Telegraph http://www.durangotelegraph.com/index.cfm/news1/soapbox/
Date: November 18,19,20,2014

For the full article: Read more

Next Page →