South China Sea


The Looming US-China Crisis in the South China Sea

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

MelGurtov
“The long-running, multi-party dispute over control of islets in the South China Sea (SCS) is worsening both in rhetoric and provocative activity. Meeting in late May at the Shangri-La Dialogue on regional security, US and Chinese defense officials sparred over responsibility for the increased tension, though they stopped short of issuing threats. In fact, all sides to the dispute say they want to avoid violence, prefer a diplomatic resolution, and support freedom of navigation.”

Author: Mel Gurtov
Published in: Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/06/17/the-looming-us-china-crisis-in-the-south-china-sea/
Global Asia http://globalasia.org/forum/the-looming-us-china-crisis-in-the-south-china-sea/
The Asia-Pacific Journal: Japan Focus http://www.japanfocus.org/-Mel-Gurtov/4330/article.html
Mel Gurtov Blog https://mgurtov.wordpress.com/2015/06/10/post-80-the-looming-us-china-crisis-in-the-south-china-sea/
The Times of Earth http://www.timesofearth.com/features-views-analysis/the-looming-us-china-crisis-in-the-south-china-sea.html
13clocks.org http://www.13clocks.org/index.php?/blog/8/entry-18-the-looming-us-china-crisis-in-the-south-china-sea/
Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/speakout/item/31443-the-looming-us-china-crisis-in-the-south-china-sea
Progressive Radio Network http://prn.fm/the-looming-us-china-crisis-in-the-south-china-sea-by-mel-gurtov/
Newberry Observer http://www.newberryobserver.com/news/opinion/154150256/The-looming-US-China-Crisis
The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2015/06/u-s-china-crisis-looms-in-the-south-china-sea/?utm_source=June+22%2C+2015+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_campaign=This+Week%27s+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_medium=email
The Day http://www.theday.com/article/20150616/OP03/150619477/
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/06/17/chinese-activities-61715/
Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2015/06/25/looming-us-china-crisis-south-china-sea/
West Bend News http://www.westbendnews.net/2015/WBnews31-15.pdf
Date: June 10,11,13,15,16,17,19,20,25,August 5,2015
For the full article: (more…)