critical thinking


Good People Doing Bad Things

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

kent_shifferd
“In World War II, good American boys who wouldn’t have kicked a cat flew bombers that set cities filled with innocent German children on fire. German boys, who were raised to be kind and decent, participated in the atrocities of the Holocaust. How is it that normally decent people who are raised to be kind and respectful of others can commit acts of horrible violence during wars? How do they put aside their normal reluctance to hurt others and make the decision to shoot or bomb not only enemy combatants but civilians including women and children?”

Author: Kent Shifferd
Published in: Fountain of Light.net http://www.fountainoflight.net/publish/article_7707.shtml
War is a crime http://warisacrime.org/content/good-people-doing-bad-things
World Beyond War http://worldbeyondwar.org/good-people-doing-bad-things/
The Johnstown Breeze http://www.myjohnstownbreeze.com/
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/category/guest-columnists/kent-shifferd/
Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/good_people_doing_bad_things/
Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2015/08/18/good-people-bad-things/
The Gilmer Mirror http://www.gilmermirror.com/view/full_story/26812571/article-Good-People-Doing-Bad-Things?
Date: August 18,19,26,2015

For the full article: (more…)


“No boots on the ground,” and other fairy tales

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

JohnLaForge
“Last August the president began his air war against the Islamic State, which controls two Iraqi provincial capitals and the city of Falluja. Obama declared that his purpose was to “dismantle” the I.S. By April of this year, the Pentagon’s 4,050 missile and bombing strikes against IS in Iraq and Syria had cost over $2.1 billion, over $8 million a day, but without any success. Then on May 16, after assuring the country that “I will not allow the US to be dragged into another war in Iraq,” the president sent a group of US commandos on their first raid into Syria. Since Congress has not declared war, this unauthorized attack and intensification would make Lyndon Johnson and Richard Nixon proud. Can the Nobel Committee withdraw a Peace Prize for cause?”

Author: John LaForge
Published in: Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/06/24/no-boots-on-the-ground-and-other-fairy-tales/
The Cap Times http://host.madison.com/news/opinion/column/john-laforge-no-boots-on-the-ground-and-other-fairy/article_54050a81-5d28-5631-ae24-3d602e96cea4.html
Herald Independent http://heraldindependent.com/opinion/editorials/276/no-boots-on-the-ground-and-other-fairy-tales
Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/speakout/item/31590-no-boots-on-the-ground-and-other-fairy-tales
Satish Sharma’s Rotigraphy Blog http://satish-sharma.blogspot.com/2015/06/no-boots-on-ground-and-other-fairy-tales.html
Muscatine Journal http://muscatinejournal.com/eedition/page-a/page_bc23bcd8-82f9-52e6-844a-873e04b44790.html
Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2015/06/30/boots-ground-fairy-tales/
Newberry Observer http://newberryobserver.com/opinion/editorials/562/no-boots-on-the-ground-and-other-fairy-tales
Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2015/06/30/boots-ground-fairy-tales/
Counterpunch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/06/24/no-boots-on-the-ground-and-other-fairy-tales/
Muscatine Journal http://muscatinejournal.com/eedition/page-a/page_bc23bcd8-82f9-52e6-844a-873e04b44790.html
Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/no_boots_on_the_ground_and_other_fairy_tales/
Date: June 24,25,28,30,July 2,2015

For the full article: (more…)