alternatives to violence


Let us build bridges

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Majd Isreb
“At times of increased tension, both ISIL and racists in the west are taking a similar path to polarize the public. I’d propose an alternative approach to avoid a bleak future with limited civil liberties.”

Author: Majd Isreb, M.D.
Published in: Grassroots Press http://www.grass-roots-press.com/2015/12/13/let-us-build-bridges-not-destroy-them/
La Progressive https://www.laprogressive.com/welcoming-syrian-refugees/
Counterpunch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/12/15/let-us-build-bridges-to-syria/
Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/let_us_build_bridges/
Las Vegas Tribune http://lasvegastribune.net/build-bridges/
Boulder Weekly http://aboutboulder.com/link?url=http://www.boulderweekly.com/
BuzzFeed http://www.buzzfeed.com/nephronmd/let-us-build-bridges-217ox
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/12/16/building-bridges-121615/
Date: December 13,14,15,16,17,18,2015

For the full article: (more…)


ISIS and changing the game

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

TomH
“Even some of my favorite doves are advocating a mixed military response to ISIS. I can’t agree. The history of our violent response to terrorism began as a trickle, then a stream, then a torrent into Iraq, Afghanistan, Somalia, Yemen, Pakistan, and Syria. Each and every time we “won” (deposed the Taliban in Afghanistan, “Mission Accomplished” by knocking over Saddam, the surge), the response from the terror side has gotten worse. Now, for pity’s sake, we see a genocidal terror caliphate. Our game of violence is a loser.”

Author: Tom H. Hastings
Published in: The Skanner http://www.theskanner.com/opinion/commentary/23354-isis-and-changing-the-game
New Pittsburgh Courier http://newpittsburghcourieronline.com
Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/125579
Point Pleasant Daily Register http://mydailyregister.com/opinion/3102/isis-and-changing-the-game
Cullman Sense http://www.cullmanstore.com/sites/default/files/CullmanSense-11-23-2015.pdf
The PeaceWorker http://peaceworker.org/2015/11/dont-try-to-overthrow-isis-undermine-it/?utm_source=November+30%2C+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_campaign=This+Week%27s+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_medium=email
The News International http://www.thenews.com.pk/Todays-News-9-353883-Isis-and-changing-the-game
Counterpunch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/11/27/isis-and-changing-the-game/
Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/isis_and_changing_the_game/
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/11/23/game-is-a-loser-112515/
Newberry Observer http://newberryobserver.com/opinion/editorials/3533/isis-and-changing-the-game
Newberry Observer http://newberryobserver.com/opinion/editorials/3569/isis-and-changing-the-game-2
Date: November 23,27,28,29,30,2015

For the full article: (more…)


In Baghdad, Organized Destruction

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

CathyBreen
“Two days ago an email came from an Iraqi doctor in Baghdad in response to a brief greeting I sent to her for the month of Ramadan.

“Thanks so much for remembering us…In fact, we are the same if not worse. Our hearts are broken at the organized ruining of our country. We are targeted by those criminals and gangs coming from everywhere, even from the west, who are all witnessing this drama and, if not supporting it, are keeping silent. We wonder what sin we committed to face this gloomy black fate. In fact, what is going on is beyond words.””

Author: Cathy Breen
Published in: Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/117094
Voices for Creative Nonviolence http://vcnv.org/in-baghdad-organized-destruction
Information Clearing House http://www.informationclearinghouse.info/article42256.htm
Antiwar http://antiwar.com/blog/2015/06/28/in-baghdad-organized-destruction/
Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/06/30/in-baghdad-organized-destruction/
Wake up from your slumber blog http://wakeupfromyourslumber.com/in-baghdad-organized-destruction/
The Palestine Chronicle http://www.palestinechronicle.com/in-baghdad-organized-destruction/
Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2015/06/27/baghdad-organized-destruction
Pacific Free Press http://www.pacificfreepress.com/rss/13991-destruction-by-design-iraaq-s-unnatural-demise.html
Fellowship of Reconciliation http://paxchristiusa.org/2015/07/02/reflection-in-baghdad-organized-destruction/
Counter Currents http://www.countercurrents.org/breen280615.htm
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/06/30/try-to-survive-7115/
Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/in_baghdad_organized_destruction/
Pagosa Daily Post http://pagosadailypost.com/2015/06/30/essay-children-of-the-iraq-war/
West Bend News http://www.westbendnews.net/2015/WBnews30-15.pdf
Date: June 26,27,28,29,30,July 2,7,2015

For the full article: (more…)