Arnold Oliver


Sergeant Bowe Bergdahl and the Psychology of War

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Arnold Oliver
“More than five years ago a soldier named Bowe Bergdahl left his U.S. Army unit in Afghanistan. He was captured, imprisoned in brutal conditions for five years, and finally released in a prisoner exchange in 2014. The Army is now considering whether he should be court-martialed for desertion and other crimes.”

Author: Arnold Oliver
Published in: Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/09/24/sergeant-bowe-bergdahl-and-the-psychology-of-war/
The Creole http://www.thecreole.com/?p=44300
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/09/23/psychology-of-war-92315/
Juan Cole-Informed Comment http://www.juancole.com/2015/09/bowe-bergdahl-psychology.html
Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/speakout/item/33060-sergeant-bowe-bergdahl-and-the-psychology-of-war
Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/sergeant_bowe_bergdahl_and_the_psychology_of_war/
Newberry Observer http://newberryobserver.com/opinion/2352/bowe-bergdahl-and-the-psychology-of-war
The Times of Earth http://www.timesofearth.com/features-views-analysis/sergeant-bowe-bergdahl-and-the-psychology-of-war.html
The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2015/10/ptsd-the-hidden-price-we-pay-for-our-wars/?utm_source=October+26%2C+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_campaign=This+Week%27s+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_medium=email
Date: September 23,24,29,30,October 20,2015

For the full article: (more…)


Historic Peace Ship Is Re-Launched

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Arnold Oliver
“Along the rugged coast of northern California’s Humboldt County, maritime history is being made. June 20th marked the launch ceremony of the rebuilt sailing ketch, the Golden Rule, after four years of hard work by a restoration team led by Veterans for Peace. As we shall see, the Golden Rule is no ordinary sailboat.”

Author: Arnold Oliver
Published in: Counterpunch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/06/23/historic-peace-ship-is-re-launched/
Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2015/06/28/golden-rule-historic-peace-ship-re-launched/
Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/speakout/item/31564-peace-activists-relaunch-protest-ship
The Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/06/23/no-ordinary-sailboat-62415/
gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/historic_peace_ship_is_re-launched/
Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/speakout/item/31564-peace-activists-relaunch-protest-ship
Kane Republican http://www.kanerepublican.com/sites/default/files/e-edition%20Kane%2006-23-15.pdf
Veterans for Peace http://www.veteransforpeace.org/pressroom/news/2015/06/23/golden-rule-rides-again
War is a crime http://warisacrime.org/content/historic-peace-ship-re-launched
The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2015/07/historic-peace-ship-is-re-launched/?utm_source=July+13%2C+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_campaign=This+Week%27s+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_medium=email
Date: June 23,24,26,July 11,2015

For the full article: (more…)


Iran and the Memory Hole

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Arnold Oliver
“Although Israeli Prime Minister Netenyahu in his speech to Congress painted Iran as a threat to peace, he left out important details concerning the relationship between Iran and the West. There is considerably more to the story.”

Author: Arnold J. Oliver
Published in: Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2015/03/08/israeli-prime-minister-netenyahu-iran-memory-hole/, Battle Creek Enquirer http://www.battlecreekenquirer.com/story/opinion/columnists/2015/03/06/arnold-oliver-iran-memory-hole/24497259/, Informed Comment http://www.juancole.com/2015/03/americas-memory-hole.html, South Coast Today http://www.southcoasttoday.com/article/20150308/OPINION/150309531/-1/RSS777?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+neediest-families-fund+%28New+Bedford+Neediest+Families+Fund%29, Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/03/06/iran-and-the-memory-hole/, Herald Independent http://www.heraldindependent.com/news/editorial/152260567/Iran-and-the-Memory-Hole, Truth Out http://truth-out.org/speakout/item/29536-iran-and-the-memory-hole, The Times of Earth http://www.timesofearth.com/features-views-analysis/iran-and-the-memory-hole.html
Date: March 6,7,8,9,10,2015

For the full article: (more…)


How About Another Christmas Truce?

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Arnold Oliver
“On the evening of December 24th a century ago, peace broke out in the most unlikely of places. In the blasted, putrid trenches of Belgium and France, soldiers fighting on the Western Front put aside their arms in what became known as the Christmas Truce. Although World War I was then only a few months old, there had already been a million combat deaths. Many soldiers were weary of the futility and horrific costs of the war, and thousands of them spontaneously stopped trying to kill each other.”

Author: Arnold J. Oliver
Published in: Joplin Independent http://www.joplinindependent.com/display_article.php/hastings1419101924, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/12/18/another-christmas-truce/, The LaFourche Gazzette (p.3) http://issuu.com/thelafourchegazette/docs/gazette_1221_7d9337cf3d79b7, Nogales International http://www.nogalesinternational.com/opinion/guest_opinion/how-about-another-christmas-truce/article_a73df44e-8ab7-11e4-ba11-179c9a0c5c0e.html, Pagosa Daily Post http://pagosadailypost.com/2014/12/19/essay-the-christmas-truce/, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/103319, Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/speakout/item/28186-how-about-another-christmas-truce, The Detroit News http://www.detroitnews.com/story/opinion/2014/12/25/oliver-christmas-truce/20865819/, Times Union http://www.timesunion.com/opinion/article/History-of-peace-on-battlefield-5977789.php, The Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/site/the_real_meaning_of_the_1914_christmas_truce/, The Johnstown Breeze http://newspapersmagazine.com/2152/The%20Johnstown%20Breeze%20Online%20Newspaper/, San Diego Free Press http://rss.persianwet.ir/San_Diego_Free_Press_%E2%80%94_Grassroots_and_Progressive_Views____, Solon Economist, North Liberty Leader, Stanwood Camano News http://www.scnews.com/editorial/article_298e96bc-8ad9-11e4-b7ea-dfada26276ff.html
Date: December 18,19,23,24,25,30,31,2014, January 1,2015

For the full article: (more…)


Reclaim Armistice Day and Honor the Real Heroes

Arnold OliverAVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

“More than a few veterans, Veterans For Peace among them, are troubled by the way Americans observe Veterans Day on November 11th. It was originally called Armistice Day, and established by Congress in 1926 to “perpetuate peace through good will and mutual understanding between nations, (and later) a day dedicated to the cause of world peace.” For years, many churches rang their bells on the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month – the time that the guns fell silent on the Western Front by which time 16 million had died.”

Author: Arnold Oliver
Published in: Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/100399, Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/11/10/reclaim-armistice-day-and-honor-the-real-heroes/, Grassroots Press http://www.grass-roots-press.com/2014/11/08/reclaim-armistice-day-and-honor-the-real-heroes/, Pagosa Daily Post http://pagosadailypost.com/2014/11/10/essay-reclaim-armistice-day/, The War Crimes Times http://www.warcrimestimes.org/, Aletho News http://alethonews.wordpress.com/2014/11/10/reclaim-armistice-day-and-honor-the-real-heroes/, San Diego Free Press http://sandiegofreepress.org/2014/11/reclaim-armistice-day-and-honor-the-real-heroes/#.VGIuasnYoVA, The Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/site/index/, The Record http://www.troyrecord.com/opinion/20141111/another-view-reclaim-armistice-day-and-honor-the-real-heroes, AntiWar.com http://original.antiwar.com/arnold_oliver/2014/11/10/reclaim-armistice-day-and-honor-the-real-heroes/, Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/speakout/item/27379-reclaim-armistice-day-and-honor-the-real-heroes, The Daily Cardinal http://host.madison.com/daily-cardinal/opinion/militarism-poses-threats-to-true-peace-in-the-united-states/article_9e36b42a-6a24-11e4-ae1d-d3716d7a920d.html, The Record http://www.troyrecord.com/opinion/20141111/another-view-reclaim-armistice-day-and-honor-the-real-heroes, West Bend News
Date: November 7,8,10,11,2014

For the full article: (more…)