Daily Archives: September 10, 2015


Budapest, the train station, and a sea of refugees

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Diana Love
“I was seven when Mount Saint Helen’s–a beautiful peak 90 miles from our home–erupted. My sister and I were playing outside as ash and soot began to fall around us like soft snowflakes. We stared in wonder as inches turned to drifts, and our young imaginations led us to ask if maybe it was the beginning of the end of the world.”

Author: Diana Love
Published in: Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/budapest_the_train_station_and_a_sea_of_refugees/
Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/09/10/budapest-the-train-station-and-a-sea-of-refugees/
Stanwood Camano News http://www.scnews.com/opinion/editorials/article_be643b1c-5bcf-11e5-8828-6f4af43708c3.html
The Johnstown Breeze http://myjohnstownbreeze.com
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/09/09/budapest-train-station-9915/
Grassroots Press http://www.grass-roots-press.com/2015/09/10/budapest-the-train-station-and-a-sea-of-refugees/
Newberry Observer http://newberryobserver.com/opinion/editorials/2097/budapest-and-a-sea-of-refugees
Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/speakout/item/32755-nowhere-to-go-the-continuing-tragedy-in-budapest
Capital Gazette http://www.capitalgazette.com/news/ph-ac-cn-budapest-report-0909-20150908-story.html
Date: September 8,9,10,11,12,15,17,2015

For the full article: (more…)


Rethinking Syria

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

MelGurtov
“The horrifying images from central Europe of tens of thousands of Syrian and other refugees seeking new homes in the West underscore several conclusions about the human interest these days. One is the extent of the refugee crisis and the failure of the global community to respond to it over recent decades. That crisis long precedes today’s focus on Europe. As I’ve noted before, we’re talking about 45 million people who are on the run, crossing international borders or fleeing to a safer part of their home country in search of a better life and freedom from violence.”

Author: Mel Gurtov
Published in: Grassroots Press http://www.grass-roots-press.com/2015/09/16/rethinking-syria/
Mel Gurtov Blog https://mgurtov.wordpress.com/2015/09/10/post-90-rethinking-syria/
La Progressive https://www.laprogressive.com/syrian-refugees/
Cullman Sense http://www.cullmanstore.com/sites/default/files/CullmanSense-09-14-2015.pdf
The News International http://www.thenews.com.pk/Todays-News-9-339768-Rethinking-Syria
Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/09/11/rethinking-syria/
Times of Earth http://www.timesofearth.com/features-views-analysis/rethinking-syria.html
West Bend News http://www.westbendnews.net/2015/WBnews37-15.pdf
The Daily Press http://www.smdailypress.com/sites/default/files/E-edition%20Sept.%2029,%202015.pdf
Date: September 10,11,12,14,16,29,2015

For the full article: (more…)