This Time, “Free Speech” Cannot Prevail

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

lfinley
“Like many in the US, I normally consider myself a staunch advocate of free speech and against most forms of censorship. I agree with a previous US court of appeals decision that determined a Facebook “like” was constitutionally protected free speech. As a long-time anti-domestic violence activist, though, I am deeply concerned about the use of social media to harass and abuse others. A decision in favor of Anthony Elonis in Elonis v. United States, expected in summer 2015, will have potentially grievous implications for the safety of persons in abusive relationships.”

Author:
Published in: La Progressive http://www.laprogressive.com/facebook-violence-threats/, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/102280, Truth Out http://truth-out.org/speakout/item/27842-this-time-free-speech-cannot-prevail, Joplin Independent http://www.joplinindependent.com/display_article.php/hastings1417979537, Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/12/04/this-time-free-speech-cannot-prevail/
Date: December 3

For the full article: Read more

Race, Class, and Violence

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Winslow Myers
“David Brook’s December 2 column in the NYTimes arguing that classism, not racism, is what really ails our nation came off as one of the more racially tone-deaf commentaries so far on events in Ferguson.What must it feel like for an African-American to take in Brooks’s examination of 21st century class differences by means of a description of 19th century conditions in Britain: “The people who lived in these slums were often described as more like animals than human beings.”

Author: Winslow Myers
Published in: Winslow Myers Op-Eds Blog http://winslowmyersopeds.blogspot.com/2014/12/race-class-and-violence.html, The Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2014/12/03/a-privileged-white-12314/, South Coast Today http://www.southcoasttoday.com/article/20141205/OPINION/141209665/101228/NEWS0301, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/102283, Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/12/04/race-class-and-violence/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=race-class-and-violence
Date: December 3,4,5,2014

For the full article: Read more

Climate Change Challenges: Support the Environment or the U.S. Military?

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

“Having lived through the 1991 Desert Storm bombing and the 2003 Shock and Awe bombing in Iraq, I tread carefully when speaking about any danger greater than war that children in our world might face. I won’t forget children in Baghdadi hospitals whose bodies I have seen, wounded and maimed, after bombing campaigns ordered by U.S. leaders. I think also of children in Lebanon and Gaza and Afghanistan, children I’ve sat with in cities under heavy bombardments while their frightened parents tried to distract and calm them.”

Author: Kathy Kelly
Published in: The Progressive http://www.progressive.org/news/2014/12/187925/climate-change-challenges-support-environment-or-us-military, The Daily Cardinal http://host.madison.com/daily-cardinal/u-s-military-problems-outline-pressing-global-issues/article_51b0150a-7ab5-11e4-910a-47fada42b35d.html, Voices For Creative Nonviolence http://vcnv.org/climate-change-challenges, The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2014/12/climate-change-challenges-support-the-environment-or-the-u-s-military/, Counter Currents http://www.countercurrents.org/kelly021214.htm, Veteran’s for Peace http://www.veteransforpeace.org/who-we-are/member-highlights/2014/12/05/climate-change-challenges-support-environment-or-us-military, Baltimore Nonviolence Center http://baltimorenonviolencecenter.blogspot.com/2014/12/climate-change-challenges.html, Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2014/12/02/climate-change-challenges-support-environment-or-us-military, The Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2014/12/02/children-in-the-camp-12314/, La Progressive http://www.laprogressive.com/environment-or-military/, Intrepid Report http://www.intrepidreport.com/archives/14587, Z Commentaries https://zcomm.org/zcommentary/climate-change-challenges-support-the-environment-or-the-u-s-military/, Middle East Online http://www.middle-east-online.com/english/?id=69138
Date: December 2,3,4,5,7,12,2014

For the full article: Read more

Obama Extends War in Afghanistan

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

KathyKelly
“News agencies reported this morning that weeks ago President Obama signed an order, kept secret until now, to authorize continuation of the Afghan war for at least another year. The order authorizes U.S. airstrikes “to support Afghan military operations in the country” and U.S. ground troops to continue normal operations, which is to say, to “occasionally accompany Afghan troops” on operations against the Taliban.”

Author: Kathy Kelly
Published in: Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/101586, Grassroots Press http://www.grass-roots-press.com/category/opinion/, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/11/22/obama-extends-war-afghanistan/, The WordSmith Collection Blog http://thewordsmithcollection.wordpress.com/, Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2014/11/22/obama-extends-war-afghanistan, Satish Sharma’s Rotigraphy Blog http://satish-sharma.blogspot.com/2014/11/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan.html, Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/news/item/27625-obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan, Counter Currents http://www.countercurrents.org/kelly231114.htm, EuroAsia Review http://www.eurasiareview.com/22112014-obama-extends-war-afghanistan-oped/, Voices for Creative Nonviolence http://vcnv.org/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan, All Len All Blog http://all-len-all.com/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan/, The Monitor Radio http://markbebawi.com/2014/11/22/, War is A Crime http://warisacrime.org/content/obama-extends-war-afghanistan, Center for Research on Globalization http://www.globalresearch.ca/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan/5415761, La Progressive http://www.laprogressive.com/obama-extends-afghanistan-war/, Press TV http://www.presstv.ir/detail/2014/11/23/387170/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan/, OccuWorld http://www.occuworld.org/news/1796900, Z Commentaries https://zcomm.org/zcommentary/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan/, The Smirking Chimp http://www.smirkingchimp.com/thread/kathy-kelly/59722/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan, Dark Politricks Blog http://www.darkpolitricks.com/2014/11/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan/, Al-Ayham Saleh Aggregator http://news.alayham.com/node/309600, Dissident Voice http://dissidentvoice.org/2014/11/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan/, The Rebel Website http://therebel.org/de/presstv/813977-obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan, Iran Daily http://www.iran-daily.com/News/55978.html, World Beyond War http://worldbeyondwar.org/obama-extends-war-afghanistan/, Intrepid Report http://www.intrepidreport.com/archives/14483, The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2014/11/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan/?utm_source=November+28%2C+2014+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_campaign=This+Week%27s+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_medium=email, Kitsap Scene http://kitsapscene.com/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan/, The Cap Times http://host.madison.com/ct/news/opinion/column/kathy-kelly-obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan/article_9ee121e7-d06d-58ee-a495-608ffd20cda1.html, Shoa The Palestinian Holocaust http://www.shoah.org.uk/2014/11/29/obama-extends-war-in-afghanistan/
Date: November 22,23,24,25,28,29,2014

For the full article: Read more

The wrong priorities: Shifting spending on violence

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

DavidRaglan
“In the lead-up to the grand jury outcome in the Michael Brown murder the St. Louis and Ferguson-area police have ramped up their preparation- with stockpiles of more weapons and rhetoric that contributes to the public frenzy.”

Author: David J. Ragland
Published in: The Portland Alliance http://www.theportlandalliance.org/peacevoice/, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/11/20/wrong-priorities-shifting-spending-violence/, Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/11/21/shifting-spending-on-violence/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=shifting-spending-on-violence, Battle Creek Enquirer http://www.battlecreekenquirer.com/story/opinion/columnists/2014/11/21/david-ragland-fueling-fire-ferguson/19335555/, Common Dreams http://commondreams.org/views/2014/11/21/wrong-priorities-ferguson-and-beyond-we-must-invest-communities-not-violence, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/11/19/ferguson-reliving-reversing-violent-self-fulfilling-prophesy/, Press Tv http://www.presstv.ir/detail/2014/11/22/387077/wrong-priorities-in-ferguson-and-beyond/
Date: November 19,20,21,22,2014

For the full article: Read more

← Previous PageNext Page →