Armed insecurity

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Robert Koehler
““… no real security, just powers of retaliation.”
This was Norman Mailer, four-plus decades ago, writing in “Miami and the Siege of Chicago” about the obsessive security measures – “helicopters riding overhead like roller coasters, state troopers with magnums on their hip and crash helmets, squad cars, motorcycles” – at the Democratic and Republican national conventions, which … uh, didn’t actually provide security, but sure allowed us to get even afterwards.”

Author: Robert C. Koehler
Published in: Common Wonders Blog http://commonwonders.com/world/armed-insecurity/
Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com/robert-koehler/armed-insecurity_b_7859664.html
IslamiCity http://www.islamicity.org/9065/armed-insecurity/
Lebenshaus Schwabische Alb http://www.lebenshaus-alb.de/magazin/009308.html
The Raven Foundation https://www.ravenfoundation.org/armed-insecurity/
Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2015/07/23/armed-insecurity-age-endless-war-and-mass-shootings
Date: July 22,23,24,2015

For the full article: Read more

How We Teach Violence to Children

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

DavidSoleil
“As thoughtful, caring parents, we would never want to teach our kids that violence is the answer to any or every problem. We want our children to learn to get along with others, share, be kind, say “excuse me,” and try their best at an empathetic, “I’m sorry.”

I thought I was attuned to the violence that surrounds us in American culture. However, a trip to a local department store with my kids yesterday was shocking. We stepped into the toy aisles. Here is a quick rundown of the toys and action figures, in order…”

Author: David Soleil
Published in: Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2015/07/22/teach-violence-children/
Dave Soleil Blog http://davesoleil.blogspot.com/2015/02/how-we-teach-violence-to-children.html
Date: February 27,July 22,2015

For the full article: Read more

Flags and more flags

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

RusellVanderbroucke“At 10 a.m. on Friday, July 10, Steve Beshear, Democratic governor of Kentucky, officially opened a traveling Vietnam Memorial Wall in Lexington. At precisely the same time, Nikki Barber, Republican governor of South Carolina, presided at the lowering of the Confederate flag. The juxtaposition is coincidental, but the intense emotions enveloping the aftermath of two lost causes are not, despite the 150 years and 8,000 miles separating them.”

Author: Russell Vandenbroucke
Published in: Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2015/07/22/flags-flags/
Windfiel Daily Courier http://www.winfieldcourier.com/eedition/
La Progressive https://www.laprogressive.com/remembering-vietnam/
Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/118632
Pagosa Daily Post http://pagosadailypost.com/2015/07/22/essay-flags-and-more-flags/
The Courier Journal http://www.courier-journal.com/story/opinion/contributors/2015/07/20/commentary-flags-flags-flags/30410555/
Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2015/07/22/flags-flags/
Kitsap Scene http://kitsapscene.com/flags-and-more-flags/
Date: July 21,22,24,2015

For the full article: Read more

Pushing Up

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

KathyKelly
“Last weekend, about 100 U.S. Veterans for Peace gathered in Red Wing, Minnesota, for a statewide annual meeting. In my experience, Veterans for Peace chapters hold “no-nonsense” events. Whether coming together for local, statewide, regional or national work, the Veterans project a strong sense of purpose. They want to dismantle war economies and work to end all wars. The Minnesotans, many of them old friends, convened in the spacious loft of a rural barn. After organizers extended friendly welcomes, participants settled in to tackle this year’s theme: “The War on Our Climate.””

Author: Kathy Kelly
Published in: Voices for Creative Nonviolence http://vcnv.org/pushing-up
Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com/kathy-kelly/pushing-up_b_7822278.html
Rise Up Times http://riseuptimes.org/2015/07/20/kathy-kelly-pushing-up-climate-change-and-militarism/
Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2015/07/18/pushing
Tele Sur http://www.telesurtv.net/english/opinion/Pushing-for-the-Dismantling-of-Anti-Climate-Pro-War-Economies-20150717-0012.html
Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2015/07/22/veterans-peace/
United for Justice with Peace http://justicewithpeace.org/node/5830
Progressive Radio Network http://prn.fm/climate-change-and-our-historic-calling-by-kathy-kelly/
Pax Christi USA http://paxchristiusa.org/2015/07/23/reflection-pushing-up/
Z Net https://zcomm.org/znetarticle/pushing-for-the-dismantling-of-anti-climate-pro-war-economies/
Counter Currents http://www.countercurrents.org/kelly190715.htm
Date: July 17,18,19,20,22,23,2015

For the full article: Read more

Seven decades is enough

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

TomH
“We are today 70 years out from the fateful interregnum period between the world’s first atomic bomb explosion—the test fire Trinity at Alamogordo, New Mexico on 16 July 1945—and the world’s first atomic bomb attack—on a bright sunny morning of 6 August 1945 when one bomb incinerated tens of thousands of civilians in Hiroshima.”

Author: Tom H. Hastings
Published in: Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/118626
Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/07/22/seven-decades-is-enough/
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/category/guest-columnists/tomhastings/
Grassroots Press http://www.grass-roots-press.com/2015/07/21/seven-decades-is-enough/
Courier Post Online http://www.courierpostonline.com/story/opinion/columnists/2015/07/24/commentary-arms-transfers-make-us-less-secure/30641441/
Date: July 21,22,26,2015

For the full article: Read more

← Previous PageNext Page →