Killing for Peace

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Winslow Myers
“Since 9-11-01, the United States, by any objective assessment a globe-girdling military empire, has been sucked into an ongoing global civil war between brutal extremists (often fighting among themselves) and those, including us, they perceive as their mortal enemies. We are rightfully outraged by cruel beheadings videotaped for Internet distribution. The beheaders and suicide bombers are equally outraged by our extensive military presence in their ancestral homelands and drone attacks upon weddings.”

Author: Winslow Myers
Published in: Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/10/14/the-madness-of-endless-war/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=the-madness-of-endless-war, World Beyond War http://www.worldbeyondwar.org/killing-peace/, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/10/14/killing-peace/, The Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2014/10/15/think-in-new-ways-101514/, Occu World www.occuworld.org/news/1589144, Daily Cardinal http://issuu.com/the_daily_cardinal/docs/10152014
Date: October 14,15,2014

For the full article: Read more

Honoring the Original People

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

CrisToffolo
“Last week the Seattle City Council took the courageous decision to celebrate October 13th as Indigenous People’s Day. This is a national event, for in making this decision, Seattle is showing all of us how to take steps toward renewing our nation and remaking it in a more just and less violent image.

Americans descend from many different indigenous and non-indigenous nations and it is often unclear just what defines us as a people. Let me put forth the idea that what many of us share is a history of violence, suffering, oppression and trauma.”

Author: Cris Toffolo
Published in: Kitsap Scene http://kitsapscene.com/honoring-the-original-people/, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/10/14/honoring-original-people/ , Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/speakout/item/26871-honoring-the-original-people, The Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/site/honoring_the_original_people_-_those_who_lived_here/, Reminder and Blade Tribune http://www.trivalleycentral.com/opinion/columns/commentary-honoring-the-original-people/article_4d9f7f0a-54b3-11e4-b0af-137ccd4302aa.html
Date: October 13,2014

For the full article: Read more

The United States is No. 1 – But in What?

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

LawrenceWittner
“American politicians are fond of telling their audiences that the United States is the greatest country in the world. Is there any evidence for this claim?

Well, yes. When it comes to violence and preparations for violence, the United States is, indeed, No. 1. In 2013, according to a report by the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute, the U.S. government accounted for 37 percent of world military expenditures, putting it far ahead of all other nations. (The two closest competitors, China and Russia, accounted for 11 percent and 5 percent respectively.) From 2004 to 2013, the United States was also the No. 1 weapons exporter in the world. Moreover, given the U.S. government’s almost continuous series of wars and acts of military intervention since 1941, it seems likely that it surpasses all rivals when it comes to international violence.”

Author: Lawrence S. Wittner
Published in: Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/10/13/the-united-states-is-no-1-but-in-what/, Global Research http://www.globalresearch.ca/the-united-states-is-no-1-but-in-what-military-expenditure-weapons-export-and-international-violence/5407683, Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2014/10/13/united-states-no-1-what, History News Network http://historynewsnetwork.org/article/157216, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/97833, New Hub https://newhub.shafaqna.com/EN/NN/5225380, Alternet http://www.alternet.org/us-number-one-what, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/10/14/united-states-1/, War is a Crime http://warisacrime.org/content/united-states-no-1-what, Penn Live http://www.pennlive.com/opinion/2014/10/were_no_1_but_at_what_well_gun.html, La Progressive http://www.laprogressive.com/america-number-one-in-violence/, Huff Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com/lawrence-wittner/the-united-states-is-no-1_b_5974516.html, Detroit News http://www.detroitnews.com/story/opinion/2014/10/16/america-number-one/17322063/, Delgazette http://www.delgazette.com/news/opinion_columns/150141971/US-No.1–but-in-what, Muscatine Journal http://muscatinejournal.com/news/opinion/columns/u-s-isn-t-no-where-it-ought-to-be/article_0fdd9809-e4c6-5c1f-a819-7118b8cc6ce0.html, Gilmer Mirror http://www.gilmermirror.com/view/full_story/25944395/article-The-United-States-is-No–1—But-in-What-?instance=special_coverage_bullets_right_column
Date: October 12,13,14,16,2014

For the full article: Read more

Victims of US Foreign Policy Deserve Our Votes

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

ErinNiemela
“The 2014 general elections are around the corner and candidates are walking political tightropes in hopes of earning our votes. But, what if candidates had to earn the votes of all the people whose lives would be directly impacted by their appointment?”

Author: Erin Niemela
Published in: Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/10/13/victims-of-us-foreign-policy-deserve-our-votes/, Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2014/10/11/victims-us-foreign-policy-deserve-our-votes, Battle Creek Enquirer http://www.battlecreekenquirer.com/story/opinion/columnists/2014/10/11/victims-of-us-foreign-policy-deserve-our-votes/17095981/, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/97720, The Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/site/comments/victims_of_u.s._foreign_policy_deserve_our_votes/, World Beyond War http://www.worldbeyondwar.org/victims-us-foreign-policy-deserve-votes/, War is a Crime http://warisacrime.org/content/victims-us-foreign-policy-deserve-our-votes, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/10/14/victims-us-foreign-policy-deserve-votes/, The Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/category/guest-columnists/
Date: October 11,13,14,22,2014

For the full article: Read more

Hong Kong on the Brink – Umbrella Revolution or Tiananmen?

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

MelGurtov
“The tense situation in Hong Kong is at a critical juncture. The protesters have made plain that they are there to stay, though their numbers are dwindling. They are demanding that the Beijing-appointed chief executive, Leung Chun-ying, resign. They want China to live up to its promise that elections in 2017 will be freely contested, not constrained by being limited to Beijing-approved candidates.”

Author: Mel Gurtov
Published in: Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/10/09/hong-kong-on-the-brink/, Global Asia Forum http://www.globalasia.org/Forum/Detail/54/hong-kong-on-the-brink.html, Mel Gurtov Blog http://mgurtov.wordpress.com/, Saratogian Opinion http://www.saratogian.com/opinion/20141011/another-view-hong-kong-on-the-brink-x2013-umbrella-revolution-or-tiananmen, The Western Slope Watchdog http://westernslopewatchdog.com/2014/10/guest-editorial-china-in-chaos/http://www.nylibertystar.net/#!Hong-Kong-on-the-Brink-%E2%80%93-Umbrella-Revolution-or-Tiananmen/cjds/27198227-F987-43C9-B90E-A7973D5BFD3A, The Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2014/10/15/the-umbrella-revolution-101514/
Date: October 5,6,9,10,11,12,15,2014

For the full article: Read more

← Previous PageNext Page →