Defending democracy

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

TomH
“In our wonderful land of America we have ongoing debates, discussions, and principled differences. To the extent those are happening by citizens focused on the issues and not on character assassination or violent threat, those robust modes of discourse are the heart of a healthy democracy.”

Author:
Published in: Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/07/29/defending-democracy/
The Creole http://www.thecreole.com/?p=41232
The Gilmer Mirror http://www.gilmermirror.com/view/full_story/26775267/article-Defending-democracy?instance=home_news_bullets
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/07/29/defend-democracy-72915/
The News International http://www.thenews.com.pk/Todays-News-9-331426-Defending-democracy
Date: July 28,29,30,2015

For the full article: Read more

An Enemy of Peace

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

MelGurtov
“Israel’s Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu has established himself as the biggest enemy of peace in the Middle East. His thoroughly unwelcome and error-marred speech to Congress on Iran, his last-minute racist scare tactics on election eve in Israel, and his disingenuous post-election statement that he really does support a two-state solution all reveal a man who fears a just Middle East peace and will do everything he can to thwart it.”

Author: Mel Gurtov
Published in: Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/07/28/netanyahu-an-enemy-of-peace/
Mel Gurtov Blog https://mgurtov.wordpress.com/2015/03/30/post-72-an-enemy-of-peace/
Date: March 30, July 28,2015

For the full article: Read more

Adjunct Professors and Workers’ Rights

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

lfinley
“The workers’ rights movement has exploded in the last few years, with fast food, agricultural and other workers staging strikes and other nonviolent actions to demand increased wages, benefits, and better working conditions. One group of workers that has received far too little attention is adjunct college professors.”

Author: Laura Finley, Ph.D.
Published in: counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/07/27/adjunct-professors-and-workers-rights/
Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/118816
The Gilmer Mirror http://www.gilmermirror.com/view/full_story/26773703/article-Adjunct-Professors-and-Workers–Rights?instance=home_news_bullets
Hellenic News of America https://hellenicnews.com/adjunct-professors-and-workers-rights-by-laura-finley-ph-d/
Consortiumn News https://consortiumnews.com/2015/07/25/how-adjunct-professors-are-exploited/
Date: July 25,26,27,2015

For the full article: Read more

Armed insecurity

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Robert Koehler
““… no real security, just powers of retaliation.”
This was Norman Mailer, four-plus decades ago, writing in “Miami and the Siege of Chicago” about the obsessive security measures – “helicopters riding overhead like roller coasters, state troopers with magnums on their hip and crash helmets, squad cars, motorcycles” – at the Democratic and Republican national conventions, which … uh, didn’t actually provide security, but sure allowed us to get even afterwards.”

Author: Robert C. Koehler
Published in: Common Wonders Blog http://commonwonders.com/world/armed-insecurity/
Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com/robert-koehler/armed-insecurity_b_7859664.html
IslamiCity http://www.islamicity.org/9065/armed-insecurity/
Lebenshaus Schwabische Alb http://www.lebenshaus-alb.de/magazin/009308.html
The Raven Foundation https://www.ravenfoundation.org/armed-insecurity/
Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2015/07/23/armed-insecurity-age-endless-war-and-mass-shootings
The Town Talk http://www.thetowntalk.com/story/opinion/2015/07/24/robert-koehler-armed-insecurity/30643747/
Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/buzzflash/commentary/the-united-states-is-armed-and-dangerous-against-itself
The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2015/08/heavily-armed-does-not-equal-being-secure/
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/07/29/them-and-us-72915/
Date: July 22,23,24,26,29,August 3,2015

For the full article: Read more

How We Teach Violence to Children

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

DavidSoleil
“As thoughtful, caring parents, we would never want to teach our kids that violence is the answer to any or every problem. We want our children to learn to get along with others, share, be kind, say “excuse me,” and try their best at an empathetic, “I’m sorry.”

I thought I was attuned to the violence that surrounds us in American culture. However, a trip to a local department store with my kids yesterday was shocking. We stepped into the toy aisles. Here is a quick rundown of the toys and action figures, in order…”

Author: David Soleil
Published in: Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2015/07/22/teach-violence-children/
Dave Soleil Blog http://davesoleil.blogspot.com/2015/02/how-we-teach-violence-to-children.html
Date: February 27,July 22,2015

For the full article: Read more

← Previous PageNext Page →