Global Justice for Our Girls: Hashtags and Selfies Still Aren’t Enough

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

jeannine pic

“It’s too late. She’s gone. Thirty seconds is all it takes for a girl to be taken from her world and everything she knows. For the276 Nigerian girls kidnapped by the Boko Haram in April 2014, life was forever changed in 30 seconds and they are not even aware of the barely consistent tweeting and micro-blogging that has been done on their behalf. Sixty-three of the girls escaped earlier this month, and there are Nigerian governmental attempts to provide reparations. But there is a lot more to be done for the women and girls remaining – in Nigeria and beyond – and hashtags and selfies just aren’t enough.”

Author: Jeanine Russaw
Published in:
Huntington News: http://www.huntingtonnews.net/91855, Las Vegas Informer: http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/07/25/global-justice-girls-social-media-hashtags-selfies-still-arent-enough/, The Bristol Press: http://www.bristolpress.com/articles/2014/07/29/opinion/doc53d84fd4cc787880357524.txt, South Coast Today: http://www.southcoasttoday.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20140727/OPINION/407270304/-1/NEWS, New Britain Herald: http://www.newbritainherald.com/articles/2014/07/29/opinion/doc53d845aa76438512371202.txt, The Daily Star
Date: July 25,28, 2014

For the full article: Read more

Three-fifths of an Attorney General Declares POWs “Non-Persons”

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

JohnLaForge

“Hand it to President Obama for appointing Eric Holder the first African American Attorney General in US history. Then try to fathom that after generations of civil and human rights work by African Americans — whom the US Constitution once called “3/5 of a person” — it is Holder who declared some brown skinned prisoners of war to be “non-persons.” The men are held outside the law by the US at Guantánamo Bay.”

Author: John LaForge
Published in:
Counterpunch: http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/07/24/three-fifths-of-an-attorney-general-declares-pows-non-persons/, Duluth Reader: http://duluthreader.com/articles/2014/07/24/3783_two_thirds_of_an_attorney_general_declares_pows, Huntington News: http://www.huntingtonnews.net/91674, Truth Out http://truth-out.org/speakout/item/25181-attorney-general-declares-pows-non-persons
Date: July 23,25, 2014

For the full article: Read more

Insidious Myth Prevents Peace in Gaza

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

ErinNiemela
“Media frame violent conflict to reinforce certain biases and myths, emphasizing some facts and omitting others to produce compelling narratives. Good guys and bad guys are crafted and re-crafted in media discourse, and this is especially the case with the protracted Israel-Palestine conflict. Unfortunately, many of these myths enter the public discourse, on both sides, to the detriment of peace.”

Author: Erin Niemela
Published in:
Las Vegas Informer: http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/07/23/insidious-myth-prevents-peace-gaza/, War Crimes Times: http://www.warcrimestimes.org/2014/07/insidious-myth-prevents-peace-in-gaza.html, Counterpunch: http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/07/25/insidious-myth-prevents-peace-in-gaza/, Common Dreams: http://www.commondreams.org/views/2014/07/24/insidious-myth-prevents-peace-gaza
Date: July 23, 2014

For the full article: Read more

Why Are Campus Administrators Making So Much Money?

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“Americans committed to better living for bosses can take heart at the fact that college and university administrators—unlike their faculty (increasingly reduced to rootless and benefitless adjuncts) and students (saddled with ever more debt)?are thriving.”

Author: Lawrence Wittner
Published in: Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/07/22/why-are-campus-administrators-making-so-much-money/, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/91580, Uncle News http://unclenews.com/2014/07/22/why-are-campus-administrators-making-so-much-money/, Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com/lawrence-wittner/why-are-campus-administra_b_5604091.html?utm_hp_ref=tw, History News Network http://hnn.us/article/156375, War is a Crime http://warisacrime.org/content/why-are-campus-administrators-making-so-much-money, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/07/21/campus-administrators-making-much-money/, Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/news/item/25198-why-are-campus-administrators-making-so-much-money, The Detroit News http://www.detroitnews.com/article/20140724/OPINION01/307240006, Muscatine Journal http://muscatinejournal.com/news/opinion/columns/institutes-of-higher-wages/article_bd7976b6-f9a0-5259-9e82-26d36072c456.html, Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/category/guest-columnists/lawrence-wittner/
Date: July 18,21,22,23,24,25,27,2014

For the full article: Read more

In Gaza, US Citizens are Paying Israel’s Tab

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“A riveting letter is making its rounds from Dr. Mads Gilbert, a Norwegian doctor volunteering in Palestine. In it, Dr. Gilbert describes his first-hand account of Israel’s boots on the ground in Gaza – the sounds of F16s, drones and Apache helicopters, “So much made and paid in and by US,” blended with the screams, the smells, the sight of shivers and blood. He pleads, “Mr. Obama – do you have a heart? I invite you – spend one night – just one night – with us in Shifa … I am convinced, 100 percent, it would change history.””

Author: Wim Laven, M.S.
Published in: Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/07/20/gaza-us-citizens-paying-tab-israel/, Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/07/21/in-gaza-us-citizens-are-paying-israels-tab/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=in-gaza-us-citizens-are-paying-israels-tab, The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2014/07/in-gaza-u-s-citizens-are-paying-israels-tab/?utm_source=July+25%2C+2014+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_campaign=This+Week%27s+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_medium=email
Date: July 20,21,24, 2014

For the full article: Read more

← Previous PageNext Page →