Veterans for Peace


Celebrating peace: A work in progress

“Veterans For Peace, an organization that speaks truth to war like nobody else, is attempting to reclaim Armistice Day, the Nov. 11 holiday that was flipped on its head 65 years ago when it was renamed Veterans Day…”

Author: Robert C. Koehler
Published in: Emmitsburg Maryland News-Journal, PeaceWorker, Free Press, Bainbridge Island Review, Pagosa Springs Colorado Daily Post, Counterpunch, Common Dreams, Smirking Chimp, Conscious Life News, Gilmer West Virginia Free Press
Date: 2019: November 13, 14, 17, 23, December 17
982 words

For the full article: (more…)


Sergeant Bowe Bergdahl and the Psychology of War

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Arnold Oliver
“More than five years ago a soldier named Bowe Bergdahl left his U.S. Army unit in Afghanistan. He was captured, imprisoned in brutal conditions for five years, and finally released in a prisoner exchange in 2014. The Army is now considering whether he should be court-martialed for desertion and other crimes.”

Author: Arnold Oliver
Published in: Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/09/24/sergeant-bowe-bergdahl-and-the-psychology-of-war/
The Creole http://www.thecreole.com/?p=44300
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/09/23/psychology-of-war-92315/
Juan Cole-Informed Comment http://www.juancole.com/2015/09/bowe-bergdahl-psychology.html
Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/speakout/item/33060-sergeant-bowe-bergdahl-and-the-psychology-of-war
Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/sergeant_bowe_bergdahl_and_the_psychology_of_war/
Newberry Observer http://newberryobserver.com/opinion/2352/bowe-bergdahl-and-the-psychology-of-war
The Times of Earth http://www.timesofearth.com/features-views-analysis/sergeant-bowe-bergdahl-and-the-psychology-of-war.html
The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2015/10/ptsd-the-hidden-price-we-pay-for-our-wars/?utm_source=October+26%2C+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_campaign=This+Week%27s+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_medium=email
Date: September 23,24,29,30,October 20,2015

For the full article: (more…)


Pushing Up

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

KathyKelly
“Last weekend, about 100 U.S. Veterans for Peace gathered in Red Wing, Minnesota, for a statewide annual meeting. In my experience, Veterans for Peace chapters hold “no-nonsense” events. Whether coming together for local, statewide, regional or national work, the Veterans project a strong sense of purpose. They want to dismantle war economies and work to end all wars. The Minnesotans, many of them old friends, convened in the spacious loft of a rural barn. After organizers extended friendly welcomes, participants settled in to tackle this year’s theme: “The War on Our Climate.””

Author: Kathy Kelly
Published in: Voices for Creative Nonviolence http://vcnv.org/pushing-up
Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com/kathy-kelly/pushing-up_b_7822278.html
Rise Up Times http://riseuptimes.org/2015/07/20/kathy-kelly-pushing-up-climate-change-and-militarism/
Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2015/07/18/pushing
Tele Sur http://www.telesurtv.net/english/opinion/Pushing-for-the-Dismantling-of-Anti-Climate-Pro-War-Economies-20150717-0012.html
Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2015/07/22/veterans-peace/
United for Justice with Peace http://justicewithpeace.org/node/5830
Progressive Radio Network http://prn.fm/climate-change-and-our-historic-calling-by-kathy-kelly/
Pax Christi USA http://paxchristiusa.org/2015/07/23/reflection-pushing-up/
Z Net https://zcomm.org/znetarticle/pushing-for-the-dismantling-of-anti-climate-pro-war-economies/
Counter Currents http://www.countercurrents.org/kelly190715.htm
Climate and Capitalism http://climateandcapitalism.com/2015/07/20/u-s-veterans-dismantle-the-anti-climate-pro-war-economy/
Veterans for Peace http://www.veteransforpeace.org/who-we-are/member-highlights/2015/07/20/pushing
Code Pink http://www.codepink.org/pushing_up
Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/pushing_up/
Date: July 17,18,19,20,22,23,August 7,2015

For the full article: (more…)