US Voters Hold Key to Peace in Middle East

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

TomH

“More than any other time in the history of the conflict over the tiny ancient land we call Israel and Palestine, voters from a land across the sea hold unused power to change the basic course and outcomes of that conflict. At this time, those voters–who are also largely taxpayers–are keeping the conflict hotter and more bloody by their failure to prioritize the issue.”

Author: Tom Hastings
Published in:
Detroit News: http://www.detroitnews.com/article/20140729/OPINION01/307290007
Las Vegas Informer: http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/07/28/us-voters-hold-key-peace-middle-east/, Nation of Change http://www.nationofchange.org/blogs/tom-h-hastings/us-voters-hold-key-peace-middle-east-1406749582
Date: July 27,30, 2014

For the full article: Read more

Three-fifths of an Attorney General Declares POWs “Non-Persons”

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

JohnLaForge

“Hand it to President Obama for appointing Eric Holder the first African American Attorney General in US history. Then try to fathom that after generations of civil and human rights work by African Americans — whom the US Constitution once called “3/5 of a person” — it is Holder who declared some brown skinned prisoners of war to be “non-persons.” The men are held outside the law by the US at Guantánamo Bay.”

Author: John LaForge
Published in:
Counterpunch: http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/07/24/three-fifths-of-an-attorney-general-declares-pows-non-persons/, Duluth Reader: http://duluthreader.com/articles/2014/07/24/3783_two_thirds_of_an_attorney_general_declares_pows, Huntington News: http://www.huntingtonnews.net/91674, Truth Out http://truth-out.org/speakout/item/25181-attorney-general-declares-pows-non-persons
Date: July 23,25, 2014

For the full article: Read more

America’s Real Religion: Shopping

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“Although fundamentalist fanatics have been working for decades to turn the United States into a “Christian nation,” they have not had much success along these lines. One reason for their failure is that religious minorities and non-believers have resisted. And another is probably that a large number of Americans want to preserve religious tolerance and avoid theocracy. But it might also reflect the fact that the United States is now firmly in the grip of a different religion: shopping.”

Author: Lawrence S. Wittner
Published in: Sentinel Standard, History News Network http://hnn.us/articles/149565.html, Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2012/12/03/americas-true-religion-shopping/, The Times of Trenton, Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com/lawrence-wittner/americas-real-religion-shopping_b_2228617.html, Lawrence S Wittner http://www.lawrenceswittner.com/articles/americas-real-religion-shopping, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/50790, New Clear Vision http://www.newclearvision.com/2012/12/11/tis-the-season-2/
Date: Dec 2,3,11,2012

For the full article: Read more