Three-fifths of an Attorney General Declares POWs “Non-Persons”

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

JohnLaForge

“Hand it to President Obama for appointing Eric Holder the first African American Attorney General in US history. Then try to fathom that after generations of civil and human rights work by African Americans — whom the US Constitution once called “3/5 of a person” — it is Holder who declared some brown skinned prisoners of war to be “non-persons.” The men are held outside the law by the US at Guantánamo Bay.”

Author: John LaForge
Published in:
Counterpunch: http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/07/24/three-fifths-of-an-attorney-general-declares-pows-non-persons/, Duluth Reader: http://duluthreader.com/articles/2014/07/24/3783_two_thirds_of_an_attorney_general_declares_pows, Huntington News: http://www.huntingtonnews.net/91674, Truth Out http://truth-out.org/speakout/item/25181-attorney-general-declares-pows-non-persons
Date: July 23,25, 2014

For the full article: Read more

Kangaroo Court Looming for Y-12 Nuclear Weapons Critics

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“Three disarmament radicals that snuck into the Y-12 nuclear weapons complex last summer are preparing for their February 2013 trial, and face the prospect that any mention of nuclear weapons will be forbidden.”

Author: John LaForge
Published in: Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/the-peace-page/, Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2012/11/13/shutting-down-an-ancient-nuke/, Beyond Nuclear http://www.beyondnuclear.org/home/2012/11/12/reading-radioactive-tea-leaves-kewaunee-reactor-to-shut-down.html, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/48816, Duluth Reader http://duluthreader.com/articles/2012/11/12/1158_without_buyer_for_kewaunee_reactor_owner_decides, The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2012/11/nuclear-renaissance-stumbles-as-kewaunee-reactor-shuts-down/?preview=true&utm_source=Nov.+23%2C+2012+PeaceWorker&utm_campaign=This+Week%27s+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_medium=email, Transform Now Plowshares http://transformnowplowshares.wordpress.com/2012/12/01/kangaroo-court-looming-for-nuclear-weapons-critics/
Date: November 8,12,13,21,22,December 1,2012

For the full article: Read more