military suicides


A Lesson (Still) Not Learned

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Michael Nagler.jpg
“I was deeply saddened to read last week of the death by suicide of Cmdr. Job Price who was with a Navy SEAL team in Afghanistan. I was even sadder when I realized that the hopeful idea that sprung up in my mind was naive: “Now maybe people will understand why soldiers commit suicide.” The only reasons for his suicide that the media could offer were the usual suspects: it was a bad deployment, “a cautionary tale of how men were ground down by years of fighting and losing comrades,” and of course, the old fallback that puts a stop to the whole inquiry, “no one knows why.””

Author: Michael N. Nagler
Published in: Counterpunch http://www.counterpunch.org/2016/01/28/a-lesson-still-not-learned/
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2016/01/27/deeply-saddened-12716/
Pace e Bene http://www.paceebene.org/2016/01/28/a-lesson-still-not-learned/
Grassroots Press http://www.grass-roots-press.com/2016/01/27/a-lesson-still-not-learned/
Metta Center for Nonviolence http://mettacenter.org/blog/a-lesson-still-not-learned/
Aletho News https://alethonews.wordpress.com/2016/01/28/a-lesson-still-not-learned/
Date: January 27,28,2015
744 Words

For the full article: (more…)


Pushing Up

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

KathyKelly
“Last weekend, about 100 U.S. Veterans for Peace gathered in Red Wing, Minnesota, for a statewide annual meeting. In my experience, Veterans for Peace chapters hold “no-nonsense” events. Whether coming together for local, statewide, regional or national work, the Veterans project a strong sense of purpose. They want to dismantle war economies and work to end all wars. The Minnesotans, many of them old friends, convened in the spacious loft of a rural barn. After organizers extended friendly welcomes, participants settled in to tackle this year’s theme: “The War on Our Climate.””

Author: Kathy Kelly
Published in: Voices for Creative Nonviolence http://vcnv.org/pushing-up
Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com/kathy-kelly/pushing-up_b_7822278.html
Rise Up Times http://riseuptimes.org/2015/07/20/kathy-kelly-pushing-up-climate-change-and-militarism/
Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2015/07/18/pushing
Tele Sur http://www.telesurtv.net/english/opinion/Pushing-for-the-Dismantling-of-Anti-Climate-Pro-War-Economies-20150717-0012.html
Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2015/07/22/veterans-peace/
United for Justice with Peace http://justicewithpeace.org/node/5830
Progressive Radio Network http://prn.fm/climate-change-and-our-historic-calling-by-kathy-kelly/
Pax Christi USA http://paxchristiusa.org/2015/07/23/reflection-pushing-up/
Z Net https://zcomm.org/znetarticle/pushing-for-the-dismantling-of-anti-climate-pro-war-economies/
Counter Currents http://www.countercurrents.org/kelly190715.htm
Climate and Capitalism http://climateandcapitalism.com/2015/07/20/u-s-veterans-dismantle-the-anti-climate-pro-war-economy/
Veterans for Peace http://www.veteransforpeace.org/who-we-are/member-highlights/2015/07/20/pushing
Code Pink http://www.codepink.org/pushing_up
Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/pushing_up/
Date: July 17,18,19,20,22,23,August 7,2015

For the full article: (more…)