Media


Getting the Story Wrong: The Distortion of American Politics by the Press

LawrenceSWittner

“Ever since the foundation of the American Republic, there has been both praise for and suspicion of the role the press plays in U.S. political life. Thomas Jefferson famously remarked that, if it were left to him…”

Lawrence S. Wittner
Published in: Huffington Post, La Progressive, Sierra County Prospect, History News Network, Counterpunch, Tacoma Weekly, Eureka Spring News, The Free Weekly, Kitsap Scene
Date: May 5,6,10,11,12,13,2016
873 Words

For the full article: (more…)


A Lesson (Still) Not Learned

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Michael Nagler.jpg
“I was deeply saddened to read last week of the death by suicide of Cmdr. Job Price who was with a Navy SEAL team in Afghanistan. I was even sadder when I realized that the hopeful idea that sprung up in my mind was naive: “Now maybe people will understand why soldiers commit suicide.” The only reasons for his suicide that the media could offer were the usual suspects: it was a bad deployment, “a cautionary tale of how men were ground down by years of fighting and losing comrades,” and of course, the old fallback that puts a stop to the whole inquiry, “no one knows why.””

Author: Michael N. Nagler
Published in: Counterpunch http://www.counterpunch.org/2016/01/28/a-lesson-still-not-learned/
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2016/01/27/deeply-saddened-12716/
Pace e Bene http://www.paceebene.org/2016/01/28/a-lesson-still-not-learned/
Grassroots Press http://www.grass-roots-press.com/2016/01/27/a-lesson-still-not-learned/
Metta Center for Nonviolence http://mettacenter.org/blog/a-lesson-still-not-learned/
Aletho News https://alethonews.wordpress.com/2016/01/28/a-lesson-still-not-learned/
Date: January 27,28,2015
744 Words

For the full article: (more…)


Insidious Myth Prevents Peace in Gaza

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

ErinNiemela
“Media frame violent conflict to reinforce certain biases and myths, emphasizing some facts and omitting others to produce compelling narratives. Good guys and bad guys are crafted and re-crafted in media discourse, and this is especially the case with the protracted Israel-Palestine conflict. Unfortunately, many of these myths enter the public discourse, on both sides, to the detriment of peace.”

Author: Erin Niemela
Published in:
Las Vegas Informer: http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/07/23/insidious-myth-prevents-peace-gaza/, War Crimes Times: http://www.warcrimestimes.org/2014/07/insidious-myth-prevents-peace-in-gaza.html, Counterpunch: http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/07/25/insidious-myth-prevents-peace-in-gaza/, Common Dreams: http://www.commondreams.org/views/2014/07/24/insidious-myth-prevents-peace-gaza
Date: July 23, 2014

For the full article: (more…)


Building a Peaceful Future for Our Children

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“Guns. Media. Mental Illness. Lax Security. All these and more have been offered as explanations for the tragic mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary on Friday, December 14 that left 26 people, including 20 children, dead. And all of those things may have played a role. But none are the cause of the problem. And heated debate about them, while important, serves to obscure some other very important conversations about the root issue, which is that the U.S. is a violent, militaristic culture that, in virtually every institution, demonstrates violence as a means of solving problems.”

Author: Laura Finley
Published in: Joplin Independent http://www.joplinindependent.com/display_article.php/hastings1356283858, Common Dreams https://www.commondreams.org/view/2012/12/23-0, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/52233, Los Angeles Informer http://losangeles.informermg.com/2012/12/23/building-a-peaceful-future-for-our-children/, San Diego Informer http://sandiego.informermg.com/2012/12/23/building-a-peaceful-future-for-our-children/, San Francisco Informer http://sanfrancisco.informermg.com/2012/12/23/building-a-peaceful-future-for-our-children/, Pressenza http://www.pressenza.com/2013/01/usa-building-a-peaceful-future-for-our-children/
Date: December 23,2012, January 9,2013

For the full article: (more…)