dehumanization


Dead canaries

“Many people think that the fight for America is already lost. They couldn’t be more wrong. This is just the beginning of the fight for America and Europe…”

Author: Robert Koehler
Published in: Common Dreams, CityWatch Los Angeles, Bainbridge Island Review, LA Progressive, Counterpunch, Monticello Minnesota Times, Buzzflash, ZNet, Free Press, Sierra County Prospect, The Smirking Chimp, North Ogden Utah Sentinel News, Emmitsburg Maryland News-Journal
Date:2019, August 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14
958 words

For the full article: (more…)


The God of War

Robert Koehler

“There’s Mars, the god of war, perched in a parking garage in Dallas, annihilating the enemy with utter impunity. Mars, you sicko! Just listen to President Obama:
“By definition, if you shoot people who pose no threat to you…”

Robert C. Koehler
Published in: Lassen County Times, Common Wonders Blog, Common Dreams, Free Press, Gilmer Free Press, Counterpunch, Huffington Post, Chicago Activism, Sierra County Prospect, Information Clearing House, The Journal of People, The Smirking Chimp, IslamiCity
Date: July 13,14,15,16,19,20,23,2016
858 Words

For the full article: (more…)


How Our Naive Understanding of Violence Helps ISIS

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Paul K. Chappell
“At West Point I learned that technology forces warfare to evolve. The reason soldiers today no longer ride horses into battle, use bows and arrows, and wield spears, is because of the gun. The reason people no longer fight in trenches, as they did during World War I, is because the tank and airplane were greatly improved and mass-produced. But there is a technological innovation that has changed warfare more than the gun, tank, or airplane. That technological innovation is mass media.”

Author: Paul K. Chappell
Published in: The Easley Progress http://theeasleyprogress.com/opinion/2559/how-our-naive-understanding-of-violence-helps-isis
Counterpunch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/12/10/how-our-naive-understanding-of-violence-helps-isis/
Pickens Sentinel http://pickenssentinel.com/opinion/1871/how-our-naive-understanding-of-violence-helps-isis
Hutchinson Leader http://www.crowrivermedia.com/hutchinsonleader/news/opinion/commentary-how-our-naive-understanding-of-violence-helps-isis/article_695f193b-6c3b-5970-8494-2e4d78318cd8.html
The PeaceWorker http://peaceworker.org/2015/12/how-our-naive-understanding-of-violence-helps-isis/
War is a Crime http://warisacrime.drivinggames.xyz/content/how-our-naive-understanding-violence-helps-isis
La Progressive https://www.laprogressive.com/our-violence-helps-isis/
Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/how_our_naive_understanding_of_violence_helps_isis/
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/12/14/naivety-helps-isis-121516/
Date: December 10,13,14,16,17,2015

For the full article: (more…)


Armed insecurity

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Robert Koehler
““… no real security, just powers of retaliation.”
This was Norman Mailer, four-plus decades ago, writing in “Miami and the Siege of Chicago” about the obsessive security measures – “helicopters riding overhead like roller coasters, state troopers with magnums on their hip and crash helmets, squad cars, motorcycles” – at the Democratic and Republican national conventions, which … uh, didn’t actually provide security, but sure allowed us to get even afterwards.”

Author: Robert C. Koehler
Published in: Common Wonders Blog http://commonwonders.com/world/armed-insecurity/
Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com/robert-koehler/armed-insecurity_b_7859664.html
IslamiCity http://www.islamicity.org/9065/armed-insecurity/
Lebenshaus Schwabische Alb http://www.lebenshaus-alb.de/magazin/009308.html
The Raven Foundation https://www.ravenfoundation.org/armed-insecurity/
Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2015/07/23/armed-insecurity-age-endless-war-and-mass-shootings
The Town Talk http://www.thetowntalk.com/story/opinion/2015/07/24/robert-koehler-armed-insecurity/30643747/
Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/buzzflash/commentary/the-united-states-is-armed-and-dangerous-against-itself
The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2015/08/heavily-armed-does-not-equal-being-secure/
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/07/29/them-and-us-72915/
La Progressive https://www.laprogressive.com/armed-insecurity/
Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/armed_insecurity/
Newberry Observer http://newberryobserver.com/opinion/editorials/1179/being-armed-doesnt-mean-youre-secure
Lansing State Journal http://www.lansingstatejournal.com/story/opinion/2015/07/24/robert-koehler-armed-insecurity/30643747/
Date: July 22,23,24,26,29,August 3,4,2015

For the full article: (more…)