Martha Hennessy


Weeding roses in Kabul

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

“Kabul — Outside the windows of the room where I sleep here in Kabul, the Afghan Peace Volunteer (APV) women’s community maintains a small walled garden filled with roses. The community planted tomatoes, cilantro, and greens. An apricot tree grows in one corner, a mulberry tree in another. The prayer call, chanted from a nearby mosque, awakens me just before dawn. Light appears in the sky around four, and soon after, the doves and neighborhood children begin to stir. Normal activities and routines persist here in Afghanistan, despite the decades of war and impoverishment. Military helicopters roar through the skies as sounds generated by ordinary workaday tasks fill the air: the whine of a machine cutting sheet metal mixes with a jingle played by an ice cream cart rolling down the street.”

Author: Martha Hennessy
Published in: Voices for Creative Nonviolence http://vcnv.org/weeding-roses-in-kabul
Counterpunch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/06/25/weeding-roses-in-kabul/
Z Net https://zcomm.org/author/marthahennessy/
Counter Currents http://www.countercurrents.org/hennessy200615.htm
Dissident Voice http://dissidentvoice.org/2015/06/weeding-roses-in-kabul/
Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2015/06/20/wedding-roses-kabul
Tikkun Daily http://www.tikkun.org/tikkundaily/2015/06/26/weeding-roses-in-kabul/
La Progressive https://www.laprogressive.com/afghan-peace-volunteer/
Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2015/06/30/weeding-roses-kabul/
The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2015/07/eyewitness-reports-on-life-in-afghanistan/?utm_source=July+6%2C+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_campaign=This+Week%27s+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_medium=email
The Call
http://www.woonsocketcall.com/sites/default/files/CAL-062615.pdf
Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/weeding_roses_in_kabul/
Date: June 19,20,25,26,30,July 1,3,2015

For the full article: (more…)