Stephanie Van Hook


Stand your ground

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“Poet Maya Angelou once said that courage is “the most important of all the virtues because without courage, you can’t practice any other virtue consistently.” It takes courage to “stand your ground” and I am not talking about the law in Florida (or others like it around the country) which cruelly allows a person to commit murder without meaningful legal accountability. Standing your real ground is a powerful act; we can find that ground by refusing to be guided by our fear and refusing to lose sight of the other’s humanity.”

Author: Stephanie Van Hook
Published in: Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2013/07/22/stand-your-ground/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=stand-your-ground, Common Dreams https://www.commondreams.org/view/2013/07/22-2, The Johnstown Breeze, Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/opinion/item/17736-security-is-not-a-zero-sum-game-stand-your-ground , The Cap Times http://host.madison.com/ct/news/opinion/column/stephanie-van-hook-there-s-a-better-way-to-stand/article_879f3784-12d1-54e5-9f4a-c5fc734348a7.html, Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/opinion/item/17736-security-is-not-a-zero-sum-game-stand-your-ground
Date: July 22,24,31,2013

For the full article: (more…)


Finding Security in a World of Insecurity

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“Americans are learning as a nation the truth about security. In the era of Julian Assanges and Edward Snowdens, we have gone through a checklist—spying does not make us secure and even fails to warn us that entire regions are imminently in revolution; foreign wars do not make us more secure but instead more hated; a war on terror does not make us secure but rather breeds even more terrorists; operating drones does not make us more secure as it spreads hot conflict across numerous borders and angers entire societies; increasing our military spending does not make us more secure as it means we have dwindling budgets left for bridges, education, protection of our food/air/soil/water and so we become more insecure.”

Author: Stephanie Van Hook
Published in: Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/category/guest-columnists/, Joplin Independent http://www.joplinindependent.com/display_article.php/hastings1373571968, The Herald News http://www.heraldnews.com/newsnow/x273433530/GUEST-OPINION-Finding-security-in-a-world-of-insecurity, Metta Center for Nonviolence http://mettacenter.org/blog/finding-security-in-a-world-of-insecurity/, Fife Free Press http://www.fifefreepress.com/news/view/guest-editorial-finding-security-in-a-world-of-insecurity/, Wicked Local Fall River http://www.wickedlocal.com/fall-river/mobiletopstories/x273433530/GUEST-OPINION-Finding-security-in-a-world-of-insecurity, Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/category/guest-columnists/, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2013/07/10/finding-security-in-a-world-of-insecurity/, San Antonio Informer http://sanantonio.informermg.com/2013/07/10/finding-security-in-a-world-of-insecurity/, San Francisco Informer http://sanfrancisco.informermg.com/2013/07/10/finding-security-in-a-world-of-insecurity/, South Coast http://www.southcoasttoday.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20130716/OPINION/307160306/-1/NEWSMAP, The Daily Press http://www.smdailypress.com/sites/default/files/The%20Daily%20Press%20-%20Thursday,%20July%2011,%202013.pdf, Battle Creek Enquirer http://www.battlecreekenquirer.com/article/20130711/OPINION02/307110015/Stephanie-Van-Hook-Security-begins-altruism?nclick_check=1
Date: July 10,11,16,20,2013

For the full article: (more…)


Where are the Nonviolent Alternatives to the Nine Proposed Military Bases in Afghanistan?

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“Earlier this week, Hamid Karzai confirmed that the United States will build nine new military bases in Afghanistan, including a strategic base at the border with Iran, with Whitehouse spokesman Jay Carney assuring us that these nine new bases will not be permanent. Their role will mainly be to strengthen and train the Afghan military; our only question is whether they even entertained any non-military options? With our media, it’s hard to tell.”

Author: Stephanie Van Hook and Michael N. Nagler
Published in: Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/62727
Date: May 15,2013

For the full article: (more…)


From Misogyny to Murder: A feminist perspective on the Connecticut shootings

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

“When reading about the murders in Newtown, Connecticut on Friday, one point in particular stood out to me as a woman: Adam Lanza killed his mother. This point reveals something essential about the nature of all violence and gives a clue as to why these horrific events take place. For though it is reported that Nancy Lanza taught her son how to shoot a gun and she believed in guns for “protection,” in order to kill a mother, you have to learn how to hate her. In order to learn how to hate one person, you learn hatred itself. My hope is that with the call for more responsible gun laws we might in the same courageous breath witness the misogyny of his act because it provides a key for unlocking any sense of “mystery” of how this could have happened and understand that women are often on the receiving end of hatred, however subtle or however much of an “aside” it might seem. This is an important point, I think, because if we are to rid ourselves of misogyny we have to trace it to its root cause; and when we do we find ourselves at the striking at the root of all acts of such violence.”

Author: Stephanie Van Hook
Published in: Salem News http://www.salem-news.com/articles/december162012/connecticut-shootings-svh.php, Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/feminist-perspective-on-murder-121912/, Metta Center for Nonviolence http://mettacenter.org/blog/from-misogyny-to-murder-a-feminist-perspective-on-the-connecticut-shootings/, Los Angeles Informer http://losangeles.informermg.com/2012/12/17/from-misogyny-to-murder-a-feminist-perspective-on-the-connecticut-shootings/, San Diego Informer http://sandiego.informermg.com/2012/12/17/from-misogyny-to-murder-a-feminist-perspective-on-the-connecticut-shootings/, Houston Informer http://houston.informermg.com/2012/12/17/from-misogyny-to-murder-a-feminist-perspective-on-the-connecticut-shootings/, Truth Out http://truth-out.org/speakout/item/13481-from-misogyny-to-murder-a-feminist-perspective-on-the-connecticut-shootings
Date: December 16,19,21,2012

For the full article: (more…)


How Violence Protects the State

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

“This mindset of denial echoed by the Pentagon official, integral to waging war, is rooted in a belief about ourselves as separate from one another—in other words, that we should be able to kill one another without remorse, which is the supreme superstition of a violent system. On the level of the Occupy movement, we might formulate it as a principle: activists cannot harm the actors of the State without harming our movement….”

Author: Stephanie Van Hook, Executive Director of Metta Center for Nonviolence in Petaluma, California
Published in: News Beacon Ireland (at http://news-beacon-ireland.info/); HuntingtonNews.net (at http://www.huntingtonnews.net/); Common Dreams (at http://www.commondreams.org/); The Woman Rebel (at http://womanrebel.blogspot.com/); Islamic News Daily (at http://www.islamicnewsdaily.com/); Economic Justice blog (at http://economicjusticeblog.blogspot.com/)
Date: February 17, 19, 26, 2012

For the full article: (more…)


Don’t Ask Don’t Tell

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

“I could not help but be reminded of this speech when a colleague suggested that the repeal of the “Don’t Ask Don’t Tell” legislation showed that, again in King’s words, “the arc of the universe bends toward justice.” But this colleague left out the most important word in that sentence: “the arc of the moral universe bends toward justice.” What is “moral” about war? War is and always will be immoral because it demands that we violate the first principle of moral conduct: thou shalt not kill. And while it is moral and right to stand firmly for conscience, which the lesbian and gay community achieves by not hiding their sexual identity, preferring to be open about whom they love, it is the moral right of no one to wage war and to kill….”

Authors: Stephanie N. Van Hook and Michael N. Nagler, of the Metta Center for Nonviolence
Published in: The Daily Star out of Oneonta, New York
Date: December 29, 2010

For the full article: (more…)