Daily Archives: October 9, 2015


Manipulating Reality: Facebook Is Listening to You

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

MelGurtov
“One thing we have become all too used to is that our reality can be manipulated to create the appearance of something else entirely. Invading another country is defensive, rigged elections are passed off as democracy in action, more guns (or more nuclear weapons) ensure the peace, trade and foreign investment increase jobs at home. Orwellian logic has become commonplace.”

Author: Mel Gurtov
Published in: Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2015/10/10/manipulating-reality-facebook-listening-you
Mel Gurtov Blog https://mgurtov.wordpress.com/2015/10/07/post-94-manipulating-reality-facebook-is-listening-to-you/
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/10/13/facebook-reality-01415/
Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/speakout/item/33747-manipulating-reality-facebook-is-listening-to-you
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/10/13/facebook-reality-01415/
The Western News http://www.thewesternnews.com/members/facebook-among-others-is-listening-to-you/article_1cc1fa78-71b5-11e5-8d4e-ebe0e399bfcf.html
Z Net https://zcomm.org/zmagazine/facebook-is-listening-to-you/
Date: October 7,10,13, November 20,27,2015

For the full article: (more…)


22 People Killed by US Airstrike on Doctors Without Borders Hospital in Kunduz, Afghanistan

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

KathyKelly
“Before the 2003 “Shock and Awe” bombing in Iraq, a group of activists living in Baghdad would regularly go to city sites that were crucial for maintaining health and well-being in Baghdad. These sites included hospitals, electrical facilities, water purification plants, and schools. The activists would then string large vinyl banners between the trees outside these buildings that read: “To Bomb This Site Would Be A War Crime.” At the time, we encouraged people in U.S. cities to do the same, trying to build empathy for people trapped in Iraq, anticipating a terrible aerial bombing.”

Author: Kathy Kelly
Published in: Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/10/06/bombing-hospitals-22-people-killed-by-us-airstrike-on-doctors-without-borders-hospital-in-kunduz-afghanistan/
Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/123503
Z Net https://zcomm.org/znetarticle/22-people-killed-by-us-airstrike-on-doctors-without-borders-hospital-in-kunduz-afghanistan/
Voices for Creative Nonviolence http://vcnv.org/the-obscenity-of-our-war
Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2015/10/06/obscenity-our-war
War is a crime http://www.nativeamericanpassions.com/defun/visit.html?url=www.afterdowningstreet.org
OpEd News http://www.opednews.com/articles/The-Obscenity-of-Our-War-by-Kathy-Kelly-Airstrikes_Crime_Doctors-Without-Borders_Hospital-151010-580.html
The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2015/10/22-people-killed-by-u-s-airstrike-on-hospital-in-afghanistan
/?utm_source=October+26%2C+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_campaign=This+Week%27s+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_medium=email
, LA Progressive
Date: October 6,10,24,2015

For the full article: (more…)