Daily Archives: August 27, 2015


China’s insecurity

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

MelGurtov
“Several developments in China over the past few weeks have shown us a country quite different from the one often portrayed by outsiders—an emerging superpower, with global economic reach and ambitions to challenge American predominance, at least in Asia. The real China, the one most familiar to its citizens, faces serious, long-term problems at home. In just the last few weeks these include a major industrial chemical explosion in Tianjian (just the latest in a string of industrial accidents), successive currency revaluations, a stock market crash, an anti-corruption campaign that has landed quite a few big names, and a widening net to catch lawyers and anyone else who speaks for human rights and the rule of law.”

Author: Mel Gurtov
Published in: Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/08/28/chinas-insecurity/
Mel Gurtov Blog https://mgurtov.wordpress.com/2015/08/27/post-89-chinas-insecurity/
Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/120990
The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2015/10/u-s-policy-must-acknowledge-chinas-insecurity/?utm_source=October+5%2C+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_campaign=This+Week%27s+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_medium=email
Newberry Observer http://newberryobserver.com/opinion/editorials/1784/the-reality-of-chinas-insecurity
Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/fpopin/chinas_insecurity/
Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2015/09/08/microscope-on-china-9915/
Times of Earth http://www.timesofearth.com/features-views-analysis/chinas-insecurity.html
South Coast Today http://www.southcoasttoday.com/article/20150830/opinion/150839979
Date: August 27,28,September 1,2,October 4,2015

For the full article: (more…)


Trial by Fire for Ecuador’s President Correa

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

JeffreyPugh
“Multi-colored ponchos, lime green government banners, and gray and olive police armor have filled the streets of Quito and other cities in Ecuador this month. Ecuadorian president Rafael Correa and opposition protestors have been engaged in a war of words and displays of physical presence in public spaces since the major nonviolent challengers, the Confederation of Indigenous Nationalities of Ecuador (CONAIE), and its allies launched a nationwide strike and march on August 13. Correa is one of the cohort of presidents challenging U.S. hegemony in Latin America, and he has taken over the leading role in promoting regional integration and denouncing U.S. intervention after Hugo Chavez’s death. For this reason the protests, and Correa’s increasingly repressive response to them, will be carefully watched by those in other countries wishing to gauge whether the ‘Bolivarian moment’ has peaked.”

Author: Jeffrey D. Pugh
Published in: Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/08/26/trial-by-fire-for-ecuadors-president-correa/
Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/speakout/item/32562-trial-by-fire-for-ecuador-s-president-correa
Times of Earth http://www.timesofearth.com/features-views-analysis/trial-by-fire-for-ecuadors-president-correa.html
Date: August 26,28,2015

For the full article: (more…)