Daily Archives: September 11, 2014


Suckered Again?

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

Winslow Myers
“Why must vengefulness be the default strategy for humans—the very thing we dislike and fear most about our adversaries? Mob rule is a temptation we assume we have grown beyond, but have we? The media hounds and the war lovers like Senators Graham and McCain bay for blood, putting enormous pressure on the President to get suckered into a third Middle East war. To avoid the label of wimp, Mr. Obama had to say what he said in his speech to the nation on his strategy against ISIS, but what he said was only a palatable version of the vengefulness paradigm.”

Author: Winslow Myers
Published in: War is a Crime http://warisacrime.org/content/suckered-again, Winslow Myers Op-Eds http://winslowmyersopeds.blogspot.com/, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/09/12/suckered-third-middle-east-war/, Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2014/09/11/how-avoid-being-suckered-third-middle-east-war, Truth Out http://truth-out.org/speakout/item/26148-suckered-again, Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2014/09/23/palatable-vengefulness-92414/, RINF Alternative News http://rinf.com/alt-news/war-terrorism/avoid-suckered-third-middle-east-war/, Reedsburg Times-Press http://www.wiscnews.com/news/opinion/column/article_24abf5c6-55ac-5be5-a86a-c56fca448765.html, The Times of Earth http://www.timesofearth.com/features-views-analysis/suckered-again.html, Stanwood Camano News http://www.scnews.com/opinion/article_eadcb134-3dcf-11e4-93f2-001a4bcf6878.html, World Beyond War http://worldbeyondwar.org/suckered/, Las Vegas Tribune http://lasvegastribune.net/suckered/, The Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/site/suckered_again/, Kane Republican http://www.kanerepublican.com/node/7992, Cullmansense http://www.cullmanstore.com/sites/default/files/CullmanSense-09-15-2014.pdf, The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2014/09/stepping-away-from-the-gates-of-hell/
Date: September 11,12,13,15,16,17,23,2014

For the full article: (more…)


ISIL, the US, and curing our addiction to violence

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

ErinNiemela

TomH
“President Obama’s Wednesday night address on the Islamic State (ISIL) reintroduced a war weary nation to more violent intervention in Iraq, another war weary nation. The Obama administration claims that airstrikes, military advisors and a Muslim states-American military coalition are the most effective counterterrorism tactics, but that is demonstrably false for two major reasons.”

Author: Erin Niemela and Tom H. Hastings
Published in: he Gilmer Mirror http://www.gilmermirror.com/view/full_story/25763101/article-ISIL–the-US–and-curing-our-addiction-to-violence?instance=news_special_coverage_right_column, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/95129, RINF http://rinf.com/alt-news/war-terrorism/isil-us-curing-addiction-violence/, War is a Crime http://warisacrime.org/content/isil-us-and-curing-our-addiction-violence, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/09/14/isil-us-curing-addiction-violence/, OccuWorld http://www.occuworld.org/news/1429408, The Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2014/09/17/violence-is-an-addiction-91714/, The Gilmer Free Press http://www.gilmerfreepress.net/index.php/site/comments/isil_the_u.s._and_curing_our_addiction_to_violence/, World Beyond War http://worldbeyondwar.org/isil-us-curing-addiction-violence/, Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/news/item/26172
Date: September 11,13,14,17,2014

For the full article: (more…)