Daily Archives: August 14, 2014


Michael Brown and the America’s Structural Violence Epidemic

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

DavidRaglan
“I flew into St. Louis on Saturday, August 9, to celebrate the birthdays of my mother and nephew and immediately learned about Mike Brown, a soon-to-be college student who was fatally shot by Ferguson police. As my community and I struggle to make sense of this recent murder, I cannot help but think of the structures of racism and violence in America and how they perpetuate police brutality against Black Americans. Police brutality is a national crisis, but the underlying structural violence – racism, economic injustice and militarism – is a national epidemic.”

Author: David Ragland
Published in: Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/category/guest-columnists/david-ragland/, The Brown Watch http://www.brown-watch.com/other-headlines-brown-watch/2014/8/17/davd-ragland-michael-brown-and-the-americas-structural-viole.html, Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/views/2014/08/14/michael-brown-and-americas-structural-violence-epidemic, Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/08/15/michael-brown-and-the-americas-structural-violence-epidemic/, Evergreene Digest http://www.evergreenedigest.org/michael-brown-and-america%E2%80%99s-structural-violence-epidemic, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/93013, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/08/15/michael-brown-americas-structural-violence-epidemic/, Valley Voice Newspaper http://issuu.com/ourvalleyvoice/docs/vv_issue_27_combi (pag 14), The Cap Times http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/08/15/michael-brown-americas-structural-violence-epidemic/, The Portland Observer http://portlandobserver.com/news/2014/aug/14/struggling-make-sense-michael-browns-death/, The Times of Earth http://www.timesofearth.com/features-views-analysis/michael-brown-and-the-americas-structural-violence-epidemic.html, Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/speakout/item/25611-michael-brown-and-the-americas-structural-violence-epidemic, Vox Populi http://voxpopulisphere.com/2014/08/18/david-ragland-michael-brown-and-americas-structural-violence-epidemic/, The Detroit News http://www.detroitnews.com/article/20140819/OPINION01/308190002/0/OPINION01/Ferguson-America-s-structural-violence-epidemic
Date: August 14,15,19,21,25,2014

For the full article: (more…)


In Ferguson and Beyond, Militarism Is a Public Safety Crisis

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com

David Swanson
“Peace and justice organizations in St. Louis, Mo. and across the country are calling for collective action this Saturday, August 16, 2014 at 1 p.m. They are proposing “nationwide solidarity actions in support of justice for Mike Brown and the end of police and extrajudicial killings everywhere.” We have been asked to gather at locations where our community members lost their lives at the hands of police and demand justice. And we should all join in.”

Author: David Swanson
Published in: Kitsap Scene http://kitsapscene.com/in-ferguson-and-beyond-militarism-is-a-public-safety-crisis/, Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/08/19/militarism-is-a-public-safety-crisis/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=militarism-is-a-public-safety-crisis, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/93092, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/08/15/ferguson-beyond-militarism-public-safety-crisis/, News Matsu http://www.newsmatsu.com/letters/1408/14swanson.html, The Times of Earth http://www.timesofearth.com/features-views-analysis/in-ferguson-and-beyond-militarism-is-a-public-safety-crisis.html, Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/opinion/item/25620-local-police-and-much-else-will-be-militarized-as-long-as-federal-government-is, RINF http://rinf.com/alt-news/usa-news/militarism-public-safety-crisis/
Date: August 14,15,17,19,22,2014

For the full article: (more…)