Daily Archives: July 6, 2014


Before the Next ISIS, We Need Nonviolent Counterterrorism Strategies

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“A relatively new group engaging in non-state political violence, ISIS, the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria, recently called for the creation of an Islamic state in Iraq and Syria and a continuation and strengthening of jihad during Ramadan, according to a video that emerged through social media. ISIS, born of Al Qaeda members in Iraq and matured in the Syrian civil war power vacuum, is so radical that Al Qaeda “disowned” it. As if its goals of coerced dominance aren’t bad enough, Al Qaeda criticized ISIS for its brutality against civilians and Muslims. Repeat: Al Qaeda criticized ISIS. For brutality.”

Author: Erin Niemela
Published in: Sky Valley Chronicle http://skyvalleychronicle.com/BREAKING-NEWS/THE-U-S-MIDDLE-EAST-BOMB-SHOOT-STRATEGY-HAS-FAILED-MISERABLY-BR-i-Time-for-new-ground-game-i-1787189, Consortium News http://consortiumnews.com/2014/07/07/confronting-terrorism-with-peace/, Pagosa Daily Post http://www.pagosadailypost.com/news/26213/ESSAY:_Dealing_with_ISIS/, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/90747, Kashmir Times Online Edition http://www.kashmirtimes.in/newsdet.aspx?q=34274, Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/news/item/24831-confronting-terrorism-with-peace, Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/07/08/we-need-nonviolent-counterterrorism-strategies/, Battle Creek Enquirer http://www.battlecreekenquirer.com/article/20140707/OPINION02/307070014/Erin-Niemela-Three-nonviolent-paths-walk?nclick_check=1, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/07/08/before-the-next-isis-we-need-nonviolent-counterterrorism-strategies/, The Free Weekly http://www.freeweekly.com/2014/07/10/we-need-nonviolent-counterterrorism-strategies/, Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2014/07/08/no-funds-weapons-7914/, The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2014/07/before-the-next-isis-we-need-nonviolent-counterterrorism-strategies/?utm_source=July+18%2C+2014+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_campaign=This+Week%27s+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_medium=email, De News http://dnews.com/opinion/article_56662fa7-b5dd-5f95-9321-cfdf31c7ab4b.html, TransConflict http://www.transconflict.com/2014/07/next-isis-need-nonviolent-counterterrorism-strategies-157/
Date: July 7,8,10,14,16,2014

For the full article: (more…)