Daily Archives: May 12, 2014


The Limits of Military Power

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“If so, the United States should certainly have plenty of influence today. For decades, it has been the world’s Number 1 military spender. And it continues in this role. According to a recent report by the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute, the United States spent $640 billion on the military in 2013, thus accounting for 37 percent of world military expenditures. The two closest competitors, China and Russia, accounted for 11 percent and 5 percent respectively. Thus, last year, the United States spent more than three times as much as China and more than seven times as much as Russia on the military.”

Author: Lawrence S. Wittner
Published in: Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/news/item/23755-the-limits-of-military-power, Anti War.com http://original.antiwar.com/lawrence-wittner/2014/05/12/the-limits-of-military-power/, International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War http://peaceandhealthblog.com/2014/05/12/limits-military-power/, Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/category/guest-columnists/lawrence-wittner/, Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com/lawrence-wittner/the-limits-of-military-po_b_5310803.html, Consortium News http://consortiumnews.com/2014/05/12/the-limits-of-us-military-power/, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/05/13/the-limits-of-military-power/, Peace Blog https://peaceblog.wordpress.com/category/israel/,The Times of Earth http://www.timesofearth.com/features-views-analysis/a-pivot-on-the-peace-island.html
Date: May 12,13,14,16,2014

For the full article: (more…)