Monthly Archives: May 2014


Why War Is Not Inevitable

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“If war were inevitable, there would be little point in trying to end it. If war were inevitable, a moral case might be made for trying to lessen its damage while it continued. And numerous parochial cases could be made for being prepared to win inevitable wars for this side or that side.”

Author: David Swanson
Published in: Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/05/27/why-war-is-not-inevitable/, The Portland Alliance http://www.theportlandalliance.org/war/ World Beyond War http://www.worldbeyondwar.org/myth-war-inevitable-detail/, The Free Weekly http://www.freeweekly.com/, Global Research http://www.globalresearch.ca/why-war-is-not-inevitable/5384132, Rise Up Times Blog http://riseuptimes.org/2014/05/27/david-swanson-why-war-is-not-inevitable/, The Times of Earth http://www.timesofearth.com/features-views-analysis/why-war-is-not-inevitable.html
Date: May 27,June 5,2014

For the full article: (more…)


University Presidents Are Laughing All the Way to the Bank While the People Who Work for Them Are on Food Stamps

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“Is economic inequality growing in American higher education?”

Author: Lawrence S. Wittner
Published in: Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/88222, History News Network http://hnn.us/article/155740, The Daily Journalist http://thedailyjournalist.com/the-financier/university-presidents-are-laughing-all-the-way-to-the-bank-while-the-people-who-work-for-them-are-on-food-stamps/, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/88222, Consortium News http://consortiumnews.com/2014/06/03/learning-the-lessons-of-the-1-percent/, Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2013/05/17/at-universities-too-the-rich-grow-richer/, Huff Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com/lawrence-wittner/inequality-deepens-on-university-presidents_b_5390113.html, Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/category/guest-columnists/lawrence-wittner/, Talking Union http://talkingunion.wordpress.com/2014/05/29/university-presidents-are-laughing-all-the-way-to-the-bank-while-the-people-who-work-for-them-are-on-food-stamps/
Date: May 17-19,24,25,29,June 3,2014

For the full article: (more…)


Global Climate Change and Nuclear Abolition Are One Issue

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“The Marshall Islands are filing lawsuits against the nine nuclear powers to get them to step up to their obligations under the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty to negotiate total nuclear disarmament. Meanwhile Bill McKibben is gathering citizens for a rally in support of urgent action on climate change in New York on September 21st and 22nd, where the next climate summit will be held.”

Author: Winslow Myers
Published in: Truth Out http://truth-out.org/speakout/item/23995-global-climate-change-and-nuclear-abolition-one-urgent-issue, Winslow Myers Blog http://winslowmyersopeds.blogspot.com/, Common Dreams https://www.commondreams.org/view/2014/05/26-1
Date: May 23,26,28,2014

For the full article: (more…)


A Pivot on the Peace Island

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“Jeju Island, South Korea – For the past two weeks, I’ve been in the Republic of Korea (ROK), as a guest of peace activists living in Gangjeong Village on ROK’s Jeju Island. Gangjeong is one of the ROK’s smallest villages, yet activists here, in their struggle against the construction of a massive naval base, have inspired people around the world.”

Author: Kathy Kelly
Published in: AntiWar Blog http://antiwar.com/blog/2014/05/24/a-pivot-on-the-peace-island/, Common Dreams https://www.commondreams.org/view/2014/05/24-1, Anti War Blog http://antiwar.com/blog/2014/05/24/a-pivot-on-the-peace-island/, The Nuclear Resister http://www.nukeresister.org/2014/05/24/a-pivot-on-the-peace-island/, The Gilmer Mirror http://www.gilmermirror.com/view/full_story/25160975/article-A-Pivot-on-the-Peace-Island-?
Date: May 24,2014

For the full article: (more…)


Remembering on Memorial Day

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


““I am a pacifist. You, my fellow citizens … are pacifists, too.” – Franklin D. Roosevelt, May 1940
Benjamin Franklin said, there never was a good war or a bad peace, but you’d never know it from Memorial Day in the United States.”

Author: John LaForge
Published in: Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2014/05/21/remembering-on-memorial-day/, The Peace Worker http://peaceworker.org/2014/05/on-memorial-day-lets-remember-that-war-is-hell/?utm_source=May+30%2C+2014+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_campaign=This+Week%27s+PeaceWorker+Articles&utm_medium=email, Truth Out Truth Out http://www.truth-out.org/speakout/item/23948-remembering-on-memorial-day, Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2014/05/21/barbarism-at-best-52114/
Date: May 21,26,2014

For the full article: (more…)


Five Rules on Which to Base Authentic Security and a World at Peace

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“The latest border changes in Ukraine are just another replay of too many past scenarios: the breakup of former Yugoslavia, East Timor, Chechnya, the Sudetenland Crisis of the 1930s, and the centuries-long back and forth of the Alsace and Lorraine between France and Germany. If we could base the resolution of these types of conflict on recognizing the five principles outlined here, we could greatly reduce the dangers of civil and interstate war.”

Author: Kent D. Shifferd
Published in: The News http://www.thenews.com.pk/Todays-News-9-250922-This-world-at-peace,
Counter Punch http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/05/16/a-world-at-peace/, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/87662, The Gilmer Mirror http://www.gilmermirror.com/view/full_story/25120995/article–Five-Rules-on-Which-to-Base-Authentic-Security-and-a-World-at-Peace, Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/2014/05/21/we-common-folk-52114/
Date: May 15,16,19,21,2014

For the full article: (more…)