Yearly Archives: 2012


Gun Control and Arms Control

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“In a number of ways, gun control issues are remarkably similar to arms control issues. Gun controllers argue that the availability of guns facilitates the use of these weapons for murderous purposes. Arms controllers make much the same case, asserting that weapons buildups lead to arms races and wars. Both stress the imperative of weapons controls in an era of growing technological sophistication, pointing out that assault weapons sharply increase dangers domestically, just as nuclear, chemical, and biological weapons increase the dangers of a holocaust globally.”

Author: Lawrence S. Wittner
Published in: Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2013/01/01/gun-control-and-arms-control/, Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com/lawrence-wittner/gun-control-united-nations_b_2384767.html, Lawrence S. Wittner Blog http://www.lawrenceswittner.com/articles/gun-control-and-arms-control, Common Dreams https://www.commondreams.org/view/2012/12/31-5, History News Network http://hnn.us/articles/gun-control-and-arms-control, The Santos Republic http://thesantosrepublic.com/2013/01/gun-control-and-arms-control-can-the-un-ever-become-a-real-force-for-disarmament/, CounterPunch http://www.counterpunch.org/2013/01/01/gun-control-and-arms-control/, San Francisco Informer http://sanfrancisco.informermg.com/2013/01/01/gun-control-and-arms-control/, Satatesman Journal http://www.statesmanjournal.com/article/20130112/OPINION/301120006/Gun-control-arms-control, The Peaceworker http://peaceworker.org/2013/01/gun-control-and-arms-control-are-similar/
Date: December 30,31,2012, January 1,2,6,12,17,2013

For the full article: (more…)


Our Intolerable Risk: Nuclear Weapons Threaten Us All

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“In a 2012 Status of World Nuclear Forces report, The Federation of American Scientists (FAS, founded in 1945 by many of the original group of scientists who invented and built the first atomic bombs and who later came to oppose them) estimates that 1,800 Russian and U.S. nuclear warheads are on “high alert,” ready to strike at the push of a button. This, two decades after the Cold War ended. While it is difficult to ascertain how many nuclear warheads exist in each nation without access to classified information, based on publicly available information, the FAS counts approximately 16,200 stockpiled nuclear warheads, of which almost 4,000 are “operational.””

Author: Peter C. Cohen
Published in: Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/our-intolerable-risk-122013/, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/52703, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2013/01/05/our-intolerable-risk-nuclear-weapons-threaten-us-all/, David Kinchen https://davidkinchen.wordpress.com/, Houston Informer http://houston.informermg.com/2013/01/05/our-intolerable-risk-nuclear-weapons-threaten-us-all/, San Antonio Informer http://sanantonio.informermg.com/2013/01/05/our-intolerable-risk-nuclear-weapons-threaten-us-all/, Los Angeles Informer http://losangeles.informermg.com/2013/01/05/our-intolerable-risk-nuclear-weapons-threaten-us-all/
Date: December 29,30,2012, January 2,5,6,2013

For the full article: (more…)


Newtown: How We Can Heed The Warnings

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“The wisest man I had the privilege of knowing in my life once said, “There is no nation, no matter how powerful, that cannot be destroyed by hate.””

Author: Michael N. Nagler
Published in: Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/worth-the-price-122013/, Truth Out http://truth-out.org/speakout/item/13572-newtown-how-we-can-heed-the-warnings, Common Dreams https://www.commondreams.org/view/2012/12/25-1, Urbana Champaign Independent Media Center http://www.ucimc.org/content/mental-health-reform-important-gun-reform#comment-31668, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/52376, Metta Center for Nonviolence http://mettacenter.org/blog/heeding-the-warnings/, World News Daily Information Clearing House http://www.informationclearinghouse.info/article33440.htm, New Clear Vision http://www.newclearvision.com/2012/12/27/not-worth-the-price/
Date: December 15,24,25,26,27,28,2012, January 2,2013

For the full article: (more…)


Building a Peaceful Future for Our Children

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“Guns. Media. Mental Illness. Lax Security. All these and more have been offered as explanations for the tragic mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary on Friday, December 14 that left 26 people, including 20 children, dead. And all of those things may have played a role. But none are the cause of the problem. And heated debate about them, while important, serves to obscure some other very important conversations about the root issue, which is that the U.S. is a violent, militaristic culture that, in virtually every institution, demonstrates violence as a means of solving problems.”

Author: Laura Finley
Published in: Joplin Independent http://www.joplinindependent.com/display_article.php/hastings1356283858, Common Dreams https://www.commondreams.org/view/2012/12/23-0, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/52233, Los Angeles Informer http://losangeles.informermg.com/2012/12/23/building-a-peaceful-future-for-our-children/, San Diego Informer http://sandiego.informermg.com/2012/12/23/building-a-peaceful-future-for-our-children/, San Francisco Informer http://sanfrancisco.informermg.com/2012/12/23/building-a-peaceful-future-for-our-children/, Pressenza http://www.pressenza.com/2013/01/usa-building-a-peaceful-future-for-our-children/
Date: December 23,2012, January 9,2013

For the full article: (more…)


Guns are not sacred, children are

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“It is now long long past time to repeal the Second Amendment. It serves evil, not good, violence, not peace, hatred, not love. The Second Amendment to the US Constitution is a relic of a time when the citizens accepted their general powerlessness and seemed to live without imagination, just fear.”

Author: Tom H. Hastings
Published in: The Portland Observer http://portlandobserver.com/2013/01/guns-are-not-sacred-children-are/, Sierra County Prospect http://www.sierracountyprospect.org/archives/children-are-sacred-122612/, The Southwest Portland Post http://www.swportlandpost.com/pdf_files/swportlandpost_01_13.pdf, Statesman Journal http://www.statesmanjournal.com/article/20121222/OPINION/312220047/Repeal-Second-Amendment-Guns-not-sacred-children-are?nclick_check=1, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/52178, Cheney Free Press http://www.cheneyfreepress.com/author/tom_h_hastings

Date: December 22,26,31,2012, January 1,2,2013

For the full article: (more…)


Our World Domination

AVAILABLE FOR REPRINT. Copy and use freely. Please help PeaceVoice by notifying us when you use this piece: PeaceVoiceDirector@gmail.com


“After 9/11/01, Bush officials Condoleezza Rice, Donald Rumsfeld, Dick Cheney, Paul Wolfowitz and others engineered a response from America that was in line with the neo-con Project for the New American Century. The idea of this elite group of Republican policymakers at PNAC was to dominate Earth.”

Author: Peter G. Cohen
Published in: Pagosa Daily News http://www.firstinn.com/pagosaspringsnews.php?mode=viewnews&id=22181&cat=2, Sierra County Prospect http://www.theskanner.com/article/Raising-Boys-to-Rise-Above-Violence-2012-12-20, Salem News http://www.salem-news.com/articles/december202012/moving-beyond-men.php, Las Vegas Informer http://lasvegas.informermg.com/2012/12/21/moving-beyond-mens-killing-fields/, New Clear Vision http://www.newclearvision.com/2012/12/23/what-are-we-waiting-for/, The Times of Trenton, Hutchinson Leader http://www.hutchinsonleader.com/news/opinion/commentary-moving-beyond-men-s-killing-fields/article_271e8fac-9d2d-51a3-ba49-634a9cdc9ff3.html, Huntington News http://www.huntingtonnews.net/51906, Los Angeles Informes http://losangeles.informermg.com/2012/12/21/moving-beyond-mens-killing-fields/, San Diego Informer http://sandiego.informermg.com/2012/12/21/moving-beyond-mens-killing-fields/
Date: Dec 19,20,21,22,23,28,2012

For the full article: (more…)